Magic eye/ ir reliever sky multi room. HELP

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by YitEarp, Aug 30, 2013.

  1. YitEarp

    YitEarp
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,202
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +283
    Ok so I've been researching to no end on how best to access sky tv in another room. I'd like to do this without disturbing walls etc do I look at wireless and over home network options. I found what looks the part which is an hdmi dongle with tx/rx but I'm now stuck and in need of help.

    Anyone had experience of doing this and can point me in the right direction please I'd be most grateful

    Cheers!
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,471
    Connecting HD over a wireless connection is at best unreliable – especially the room to room variety’s.

    Do you have RF through to the second Zone from your SKY box?

    Home Network – you would require x1 or x2 CAT cables dedicated to HDMI and preferably not running though a Patchbay.

    Joe
     
  3. YitEarp

    YitEarp
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,202
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +283
    Cheers joe. Thinking I can distribute through home network via homeplugs as I get a steady 300mbps with them so should be enough to cover what I need. What do you think?
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,471
    There are no HDMI Extender solutions currently compatible with HomePlug.

    There are HDMI over Powerline solutions - though that involves image compression and like HomePlug is dependent on the throughput on your cables, I use HomePlug with varying success around my own home.

    Wires and no image compression are always best for HDMI.

    Joe
     
  5. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    The very simple answer to that is yes, as millions of people do.
    Get wireless IR videosenders.
     
  6. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    45,613
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,856
    There are actually wireless HDMI extenders:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/LINDY-Wirel...2991&sr=8-11&keywords=wireless+HDMI+extenders

    But they're not cheap. You'd also need to split the HDMI feed from the STB in the main room in order to send a signal to both your main TV and the HDMI wireless transmitter. You'd need to use a HDMI splitter to facilitate this:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Neet®-SPLIT...1377863286&sr=8-1&keywords=neet+hdmi+splitter

    You'd also need something like the following to facilitate the remote control of your STB in the other room:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/MARMITEK-PO...15&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=marmetek+powermid+xs
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,471
    That would be a Wireless HD extender with an HDMI Input_Output.

    Pretty sure HDMI.org still haven't ratified any Wireless HDMI devices.

    Whatever you call them ensure you get them on Sale or Return as the Technology is very hit and miss.

    Joe
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  8. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    45,613
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,856
    Just noticed that the Lindy wireless HDMI extender incorporates an integral IR extender so there's no need to use a seperate IR extender in conjunction with the HDMI extender.

    There's also a slightly cheaper earlier version of the Lindy modeL:
    http://www.play.com/Electronics/Electronics/4-/27485401/739102245/Lindy-Wireless-Extender-For-HDMI/ListingDetails.html?_%24ja=tsid:13315%7Ccat:27485401%7Cprd:27485401&$$ja=cgid:7111953777%7Ctsid:48121%7Ccid:130773177%7Clid:54119185017%7Cnw:g%7Ccrid:22715959017%7Crnd:11807028161654860559%7Cdvc:c%7Cadp:1o1

    Extender HDMI Wireless - LINDY 38121 / 38122
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  9. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    99 people out of a hundred are satisfied with a £20 SD sender - give it a try!
     
  10. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    We have the HDJuiceBox which transmits both HDMI and IR via Powerlines, Yes it does uses compression but not really noticeable especially on a bedroom TV.

    The transmitter has a splitter built in so no need for extra splitter

    5% discount for AvForum members discount code DISC5

    Available with 7 days return policy so you can try it first

    Spec

    http://www.justhdmi.co.uk/hdjuicebox/

    Shop

    HDJuiceBox Deluxe Kit - HDTV Over Power Solution
     
  11. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    As Joe said I wouldnt try wireless HDMI from room to room as never as yet got one to work reliably, its the main reason why we brought out teh HDJuiceBox

    Seb
     
  12. YitEarp

    YitEarp
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,202
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +283

    to be fair for £300+ i may as well buy myself a switch and faceplates in order to install cat6e properly and still have a bit of change left to get a plasterer in to fix the chases!

    im aware i need to split the stb signal via hdmi - how then do i send it via cat6/cat5 to where i want it to go?

    Im talking to the better half about letting me knock some walls about and install a 24port switch in the downstairs cupboard - just wondering how i then convert the signal of hdmi to send to the tv upstairs?

    Honestly i think i may be better paying the £10 extra for multiroom here lol
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  13. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Always better if you can run cable, and would always recommend that.

    Run 2 x Cat5/6 cables though avoid faceplates if you can as better if you can go straight cat5/6 into the HDMI over Cat6 extenders.

    You would then need HDMI Splitter and HDMI Over Cat5/6 extender.

    It will therefore cost you about the same as the HdJuiceBox.

    You cant use a 24 port network switch with HDMI over Cat5 extenders

    MultiRoom Sky may well be cheaper at £10 a month but only for 30 months
     
  14. YitEarp

    YitEarp
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,202
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +283
    So now I got to thinking of using an hdmi matrix alongside my network I plan to install if I can convince wifey it's a good idea.

    Don't have a set budget but don't want to go nuts either! Am I right in thinking that I can plug in x amount of devices to the matrix and split them into zones.

    My plan is for 5 smart tvs we have.

    Lounge
    Kitchen
    Master bedroom
    Bedroom 1
    Office

    Currently use plex to the smart tvs and works fine for streaming but would like to have sky in each room.
     
  15. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Matrixes have a number of inputs (sources like Sky, Bluray, Apple TV etc) and then a number of outputs for TVs.

    With a matrix you can watch any combination of inputs on any output.

    Two flavours Dual Cat6 HDMi Matrixes and Single Cat6 HdBaseT HDMI matrixes.

    HdBaseT is the best of the two but also more expensive

    However if like you suggest you only have one source (Sky) what you need is a splitter that will send the sky image to multiple TVs. These again can be run over DUal CAt6 cables or Single Cat6 HDbaseT

    There are a few other ways as well see HDMI Distribution Guide : JUST HDMI
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice