1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Magazine review rubbishes Sanyo Z3!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by transm, May 7, 2005.

1. transm

transm

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was browsing the local Sainsburys and flicked through a 'home cinema' magazine (I think it was titled something like that). It absolutely ripped into this projector. It said the screendoor and focus was terrible and the colours were muted! It got about 2 stars out of 5. Has anyone else seen this review? Sorry I haven't got much of the details but I'm surprised it is not being commented on.

Background on my projector:
    I have an older and presumabley much worse z1 that I've been using for nearly two years and am perfectly happy with. I got it ex-demo Grade A for 700 (still had one year guarantee and no dead pixels). The lamp has lasted over 1500 hours so far and so is probably near the end of its life (not that the performance has changed yet). I just project it on to a whitish wall (it's woodchip but you can't see the bumps when in use) and the picture is impressive to me. I didn't even mind the screendoor but have in the last year been blurring the picture slightly so it's not noticeable and it seems to look better (especially subtitles). I also noticed region 1 DVD's look even better for some reason.

2. gingerone

gingerone

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +281
    I have a Z3 and can tell you for a fact that there is no screen door at all and as for the focus being rubbish! surely that is what the adjustment is for!
    I love it and my mate has a Z2 and the Z3 is a vast improvement.

3. dave_h34

dave_h34

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11