1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Madrigal vrs. Pronto - an honest review!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by General Skanky, Nov 1, 2001.

1. General Skanky

General Skanky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +44
    I am now the proud owner of a Madrigal IRIQ. I've now had it for about 2 weeks and can post an educated opinion of it.

I've been using my Pronto for 11 months previously. Due to the pro's and con's (as listed below) I've swapped to the Madrigal.

My Pronto has now found a new home in Cumbria. :D I hope he will be happy.

The Madrigal has the following good points:-

1. Extremely easy to set up.
    2. Extremely easy to use.
    3. A good size.
    4. Physically (in my opinion) more of a joy to look at.
    5. The power surfing via the roller wheel is excellent.
    6. Both my wife and myself like the simplicity.

Initial problem with it, was when setting it up during 'drag and drop' it caused the PC to hang. It took me a few days to discover, buried within the 'read me' files, of the software update, that there is a known conflict between the Madrigal software and my ATI video driver settings. Once adjusted, it worked like a dream. However, as always, and being a bit thick, I went through the hell of a reformat first. :eek: Anyone buying one be aware of this. That will teach me to RTFM!!!

At remote central there are many people complaining of the following about the IRIQ:-

Dim backlight. Unresponsive touch screen. RF power. Size. Lack of tactile buttons. Limited flexibility.