Mad tricky question! want to use two paid sky+ boxes from single dish!

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by sarahgold, Jan 12, 2012.

1. sarahgold

sarahgold
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everybody,

I am not very technical, hopefully somebody can tell me what I can do.....

We have a standard sky+ service which works just fine. My farther-in-law lives in southern Ireland and he also has a standard sky+ service there. He comes over to us for 4 months every summer to teach music/visit. He often says he misses some of the domestic Irish channels, especially when he wants to watch Gaelic football/hurling. Last time he came, I suggested he bring his own sky+ card and we would try it out in our box. To my surprise it worked perfectly! Only problem was that we could not record anything, (guess it clashed with our existing recording menu system)

Anyway, this year he is going to bring along his actual sky+ box as well, so he can record Games when we are out. Its very messy but in theory we can keep unplugging the dish cables every time we want to switch between our box/service and his, so it should work fine. However, I was wondering if there was some way to have both boxes connected to our dish (quad LNB) at the same time, so that we could simply power up the box/service we want, and power down the other one. We are not bothered about watching both boxes at the same time, It just would be very nice to be able to switch seamlessly between each box/service. Since both sky+ cards are fully paid up subscriptions, I doubt that Sky would object much, although technically, one card is being used in the wrong geographical location!