Macrovision stripping cables?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by wellsi, Sep 5, 2002.

  1. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Morning all,
    I recall reading a post on here about connecting cables that strip out the Macrovision signal.
    I'm transferring my old videos onto dvd-r. The DMD-E20 is very quick to tell me when I can't copy material; annoyingly, this is happening on some films I actually taped off the TV (The Abyss is an example).
    This is pretty frustrating, when I have a tatty old home taped video that won't let me transfer to DVD-r.

    So, any offers of adnice on where to get hold of such cables?

    Cheers for any help,
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,000
    I believe Techtronics sell one (although some people question their after-sales performance). Also, try Lektropacks.
     
  3. Daley56

    Daley56
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Thanks for that Steve;
    I ordered a little macrovision stripping unit from www.lik-sang.com this morning; for £25 + £4 airmail; they specificalliy mention the DMR-E20 in its use.
    We'll see how it goes.

    Cheers for you help,

    Ian
     
  5. Evilbro

    Evilbro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this work with NTSC? I've got a few NTSC videos that I would like to transfer to DVD.
     
  6. Daley56

    Daley56
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Evilbro

    No

    The cable only stops macrovision protection.:(
     
  7. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Well, that would be yes then I think;
    The cables and blocker device all work on the principle of blocking the Macrovision signal. It's not a PAL <-> NTSC converter, but it will block teh Macro signal for both PAL and NTSC videos. (according to the blurb).

    I have some NTSC tapes I want to put onto DVD; I'll let you know how I go.

    Cheers,
     
  8. Evilbro

    Evilbro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers, I'm not trying to convert NTSC to PAL. I've got a DMR-E30 on order and it can record NTSC.
    I've got a friend who has the E20 and he has had a terrible time trying to copy his vids because of macrovision the same for his dvds. PAL no problem but the macro is still intact on his NTSC discs.
    Oh well, just need to transfer my 50 vids.
     
  9. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Well, my little Macro stripping unit from Lik-Sang.com in Hong Kong didn't make any difference; nothing would record. It did, however work for a friend who has a projection screen, (which apparently have built in Macrovision circuits to prevent public showing of tapes marketed for private use).
    His films now show fine, meaning there's something going on, but not enough for the hyper sensitive DMR.

    So last night I tried the scart leads from Sonel.com;
    They worked perfectly; all my old copy protected videos now record onto dvd with no problems at all...

    Still have no success in getting NTSC tapes onto dvd though, even after changing the TV system input settings on the DMR setup menu; any offers of advice?

    Cheers
     
  10. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +25
    There are two types of Macrovision protection used on DVDs. Can't remember what they are called, but the standard one messes with the sync pulses to stop recording on standard VHS machines. This does not work on DVHS recorders and possibly DVDR, so they have a second system that tells digital recorders not to enter record mode.

    Most "Macrovision off" DVD mods only turn off the first type.

    HTH
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice