1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Macro on Canon 50mm f1.8 - How to???

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by geofftelforduk, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. geofftelforduk

    geofftelforduk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +151
    Guys, as you know I purchased a Canon 50mm f1.8 MkII lens last week!!

    I was wondering if there is anything special I need to do to get the macro workin on it!!

    You see, I also have a Sigma 28-135mm and there is a macro switch which is on the lens!!

    Just a little confused!!
     
  2. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    it aint a macro lens as far as im aware

    minimum focus distance is 0.46m if i remember
     
  3. geofftelforduk

    geofftelforduk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +151
    Oh right then!! I though I seen somewhere that it was! Doh, silly me! :oops:
     
  4. kenlynch

    kenlynch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Ratings:
    +1
    Macro is nothing to do with focusing distance, it simply means the image on the sensor is the same size as the subject or larger. To get macro with that lens you would need to use it in conjunction with extension tubes.
     
  5. DJW

    DJW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't always need a macro anyway...take a look at the shot I entered in July comp to see how I gave up with macro on zoom lens & just took a tight crop from the 50mm 1.8 :)
     
  6. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
  7. RobertP

    RobertP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    50mm works good as a macro....all you need is a reversing ring :)
     
  8. ASH1

    ASH1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
  9. kenlynch

    kenlynch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Ratings:
    +1
    What did you learn at school? 100x1.6=160, and I consider myself to be crap at arithmetic :D
     
  10. ASH1

    ASH1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
    Well I did say 150ish :rolleyes:
     
  11. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    You have a better working distance with the 100mm if you don't want to disturb the critters. I'm not in to efs but i hear its a pretty good macro lens
     

Share This Page

Loading...