1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

macro blocking on a11

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by malariaboy, Dec 22, 2004.

  1. malariaboy

    malariaboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    taunton somerset
    Ratings:
    +120
    following on from gandleys reply about macroblocking has this not been fixed by firmware updates ? . ive read all the reviews etc and never hear anything about this problem ?.
     
  2. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    I own an A11 and with careful calibration have virtually eliminated the Faroudja 23xx derived macroblocking.

    It does make me wonder why magazine reviews have not highlighted this problem with the world's most popular brand!

    To be fair, it's not Denon's fault. In fact any device using the Faroudja 23xx silicon will have this problem to some degree though careful programming can mask the artifacts
     
  3. malariaboy

    malariaboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    taunton somerset
    Ratings:
    +120
    reallly stuck now as to go for an a11 or 3910 i hate home cinema :)
     
  4. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Easy answer - if you plan to use the DVD as a source for CD, go for the A11. CD sounds pants on the 3910 compared to the A11!!

    Video wise there is little difference though the 3910 supports HDMI and a working firewire interface.
     
  5. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've got a SDI modded A11 (so Faroudja isn't involved). I wouldn't change it for a 3910.

    i-link works fine for me too to Pioneer amp :)
     
  6. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    With HDMi the 3910 takes the edge video wise, but for audio as said isnt as good.

    The A11 macroblocking was never cured as its a buffer issue on the DCDI chip. However on SOME displays it cant be realy noticed and or can be tweaked to be ALMOST absent. However with plasma i would not advise it.

    I would realy invest in the 3910 as for DVD its the better performer.
    (more so if you already have a class cd player)
     
  7. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    The 5910 promises to have new chips which should help eliminate any problems faroudja might have caused.
    It should also rank near the top for music too. Cant wait to see it once its out. Might even trade in my 3910 for it!
     
  8. malariaboy

    malariaboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    taunton somerset
    Ratings:
    +120
    ive sold my meridian cd player to fund the dvd upgrade
     
  9. malariaboy

    malariaboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    taunton somerset
    Ratings:
    +120
    just a last silly question . i presume the a11 is pal progressive
     
  10. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Yes indeed
     
  11. malariaboy

    malariaboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    taunton somerset
    Ratings:
    +120
    right guys thx for your help im going to go with the denon a11 as i need to use it as a cd player as well. ill let you know what i think after i watch a few flicks.
     
  12. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,086
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +209
    For some reason i don't have a MB problem with my A11 :)


    DVD
     
  13. Ikki

    Ikki
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,173
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +97
    Of course it's Denons fault - while Faroudja can be castigated for producing a chipset with the MB problem, Denon chose to use the Faroudja chipset and went through the process of designing, engineering and testing the A11 where the existance of MB would have been obvious. They released the A11 as a finished product and did not tell prospective purchasers about the MB problem. :thumbsdow
     
  14. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    Could some kind soul please explain what macro-blocking is?
    Is it where you can see a mosaic of small squares in the display, or is this something else?
    Any answers gratefully received. :smashin:
     
  15. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Macroblocking is a noise artifact as result of incorrect registers set on the Faroudja 2310 de-interlacer/scaler. It does indeed show up as squares of mpeg decoding blocks in place of smooth colour gradients.
     
  16. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    Thanks for that M-D.
     

Share This Page

Loading...