Macintosh Verses MS Windows users

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Darth Vader, Mar 14, 2002.

1. Darth Vader

Darth Vader
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I can see most of you post questions on Windows PC problems. Are there any Apple Mac owners out there?.

I DON'T want to start a "Windoze Vs Apple Cack" debate though guys!.

I'm just curious about the Mac-Windows ratio on this forum.

2. tomson

tomson

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +186
    I use a mac 99% of the time. I'm a designer so its fairly standard equipment for me but I have to use PCs now and again - for testing mainly. I prefer using a mac without a doubt - but I guess its just what i'm used to.

As for home cinema on a mac - it just doesn't happen.

3. Darth Vader

Darth Vader
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    What you say is ironic about Macs and HC, because Mac's are used in the actual filmaking side of things a lot. For example in audio post production and sound mixing Mac's are THE standard computer to use. They are used to run almost all "Pro Tools" systems that are quickly becoming the standard sound editing and digital mixing systems used in post productions.

I too own a Mac at home but have had expirence on Windows PC's and find Mac's easier and more fun to use.

4. tomson

tomson

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +186
    It does seem a little odd that you can go into a Mac dealer buy a machine off the shelf that is capable of broadcast quality video editing or pro audio studio use - really powerful, stable computers - and yet its damn difficult to get a 5.1 output from it for simple home cinema use.

I think its something Apple should really look seriously at - they are pushing the DVD format with built in writers and editing software as standard but the sound side of things seems to have been forgotten.