MacBook Pro - can't select Higher Performance graphics option

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by Hitby, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Hi all,
    I'm having an issue with my 2009 Core2Duo Macbook Pro (2.66, 8gb ram).

    When selecting 'Higher Performance' from the graphics options in Energy Saver Pref pane it says 'You must log out for this change to take effect'.

    I've logged out a few times, restarted, shut down completely and the message stays.

    Any ideas of how to force it to use the proper graphics card?
     
  2. dbeevers

    dbeevers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +133
  3. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Yep, tried everything. Restarts, safe mode, pram, new user account etc. AppleCare have got me reinstall the os right now (10.8)

    Not convinced it'll help to be honest
     
  4. dbeevers

    dbeevers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +133
    try the gfx app works for me
     
  5. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Reinstall didn't work. Have to take it to the Apple Store at lunchtime so they can give it an MRI scan (oo-er).
     
  6. dbeevers

    dbeevers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +133
    what happened?
     
  7. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Sorry, should have updated.

    The high performance graphics card wasn't showing up in System Information - they booted it off an external drive to rule out a software fault and now they're keeping it for a week to replace the logic board. Both graphics chips are built into the board.
     
  8. dbeevers

    dbeevers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +133
    A WEEK!!!!
    thats the one thing I hate about apple stores that they can take their time and send it all off for repair, an independant service centre would have to diagnose and fix in 24hrs, shame they withdrew the licence from my local one :-(

    Hopefully they'll sort it though.
     
  9. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Yeah, they do fix it on-site but they don't have the part it needs in stock.
     
  10. Monopot

    Monopot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +190
    My old 08 MBP had 4 logic board replacements due to failed GFX chips. 3 of them done in the UK at Milton Keynes 2 were done the same day(!!) and the other was the next day. The last time it broke I am now living in New Zealand which doesn't have an Apple Store and all parts come from overseas. I took it to a premium service center and it took 4 weeks to repair!! I sold it the week after I got it back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice