Mac stuck on installer please help

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by snerkler, May 22, 2019.

  1. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    My Touchbar MBP running OS high safari started running a bit slow so I restarted it and now it’s stuck on the installer. I’ve saved the install log but it means nothing to me.

    A3E45576-B5AF-4135-ACFC-DEAA6F57F96B.jpeg

    It starts in safe mode and I ran a first aid in the disk but as soon as I try to start it in normal mode it just gets stuck on the installer. I’ve even deleted login items/apps. I know there was an update waiting and whether this installed when I restarted or not I don’t know.

    Is there a way to fix it without reinstalling the OS or reinstalling from time machine as I’ve been working on a lot of photo edits this morning and I don’t want to lose them?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    If restarting isn’t helping as per your screenshot I’d say you need to reinstall with a USB boot key. ideally to the latest version of the same macOS you were running. Are you sure that was High Sierra? As Mojave (10.14.5) is the latest macOS build.

    Do you have access to another Mac of Mac owning friend who can make you a boot key?
     
  3. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Thanks for the reply. Definitely OS high Sierra as I haven’t upgraded. Unfortunately I can’t upgrade to see if installing that fixes the issue as I can’t get on the internet when I’m safe mode.

    I’ve got an old bootable drive that I made but how would that help?
     
  4. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    It won’t. You need an installer USB key with the latest High Sierra build on it.

    You’ll need another Mac to create this. Hence my last sentence in my reply above.

    Failing that you could try your local Apple store for assistance.
     
  5. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    Don’t live near Maidstone in Kent I assume?
     
  6. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Ah ok, so you’re saying a fresh install which obviously wipe my drive?

    If that’s what you’re suggesting I think I’d rather reinstall from my last time machine backup. I’ve saved the latest photos and lightroom catalogue to an external drive so I’ll not lose the latest photos now.

    No, unfortunately not.
     
  7. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    No I’m saying run the latest matching macOS installer pointing it to your current drive and it may well repair it with all your files intact.

    (As only if you erased your drive with Disk Utility, would all your files and programs be lost).

    Well worth a try as you have your Time Machine Backup as a last resort.
     
  8. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Oh right, I don’t know how to do that tbh, Ill have to have a google.
     
  9. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    You will need another Mac to create the usb boot key and a program like DiskmakerX.

    You could try Internet recovery mode, hold Command, Option and R key down on startup. Follow the prompts to reinstall.

    Alternatively have a google for Mac repair shops in your area, they might be able to help or supply a usb installer for High Sierra.
     
  10. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Thanks very much for all of your help, it’s much appreciated.

    I can install OS high Sierra from the recovery mode but doesn’t this wipe the drive?
     
  11. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Does this mean anything to you when I try to run first aid?

    BC6DE122-BAB9-4D29-99BA-9842219491C3.jpeg
     
  12. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    See that quite often. Shouldn’t be a major problem.

    Reinstalling will not wipe the drive unless it states it will. Internet recovery should find the existing drive and install over the top. Only overwriting the operating system files that it needs to.

    No guarantees with this kind of recovery work. But you have an external Time Machine Backup to use as a last resort right?
     
  13. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Didn’t work so just currently reinstalling from time machine. Fingers crossed that solves it, but I might just upgrade to Mojave just in case it gets rid of any gremlins.

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  14. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    Been running Mojave since release and not had any issues. On an older 2012 MacBook retina too.

    Hope the Time Machine restore goes well
     
  15. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    The restore failed and I can’t reinstall a new copy of Mac OS as only OS Sierra is available as an option and it won’t unstall that as a newer version (ie OS high Sierra) is in the hard drive :(:(
     
  16. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    Do you know someone else locally with a Mac who can help you create a USB installer?

    Worst case for a few quid I can build one for you, whatever version of macOS your need, then post it out 1st class, but that won't be with you till Friday.
     
  17. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Thanks, much appreciated. I’m trying another backup but if that doesn’t work I do know someone with another Mac so will ask if I can use that to create a usb installer.
     
  18. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Quick update. I think my hard drive is fubar, I eventually managed to install a new OS by erasing the hard drive and then using the recovery mode, however it still doesn’t boot and just goes to a black screen with the white no entry sign.

    I guess I’m going to have to take it back to apple, but whilst waiting for a Genius Bar appointment I’m currently restoring a time machine backup to another external drive and hoping to boot from that.
     
  19. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    Won’t be a hard drive in your MacBook. It’s a solid state drive (SSD, memory chips on a stick).
    Whilst they can wrong they are normally far more reliable than a hard drive. Could be a problem elsewhere but Genius Bar should help you out and should be under warranty.
     
  20. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Thanks, I believe 'I've' got it up and running again. I took a punt at the online chat and they were very good, although in the end the thing that appears to have fixed it seems pretty straight forward. Instead of pressing CMD+R on boot up they advised me to press CMD+Opt+R to boot from inside the computer. When I did this and went to install the new OS the OS available was Mojave (rather than the old Sierra it was giving me before). However, as this appeared to be a different recovery mode to the previous I took another punt at restoring from time machine and this time it's worked. The only issue I'm now having is that I'm trying to back up again and it's really slow, only doing 1 or 2MB every minute.
     
  21. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +554
    How are you doing your Time Machine backup? To external USB hard drive?
     
  22. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,045
    Yeah. Never been this slow before, and my other TM backup was OK. I've just done first aid on the external drive and that's fine so maybe it's just throwing a wobbly with this backup and might be fine next time. I'm just impatient ;)
     
  23. RobinDB

    RobinDB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Location:
    Near Alicante
    Ratings:
    +144
    I create a new backup TM every now and again as the incremental one can get very very slow.

    I rotate 3 backups drives so I always have backup of backup of backup
     

Share This Page

Loading...