Mac Pro output of Dolby 5.1 is stereo

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by motionographer, Sep 4, 2012.

  1. motionographer

    motionographer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I'll try and be brief:

    Problem - when playing avi's with dd 5.1 through VLC it doesn't register as DD on my yamaha dsp amp and only comes out as stereo. (PS3 Plays 5.1 avi's fine through it). I f i try QT player it just gives me a shrill noise.

    I am outputting from a mac pro 1,1, OS X lion 10.7.4 using an optical cable. I have downloaded Perian (but not sure what settings should be)

    I have turned on optical out in preferences. I have gone to MIDI settings and made sure it's all singing. I went into VLC player settings and for audio I chose 'optical out (encoded)' but that just threw up an error, so i had to revert to 'optical out' which just plays stereo and my amp says 'pro-logic', not DD 5.1.

    i even followed a set-up online but it still doesn't work.

    Any help really appreciated
    Steve
     
  2. next010

    next010
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    10,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,107
    Try XBMC then go to System->Settings->System->Audio Output

    Change the audio output to optical/coax, then tick the box for you have a Dolby AC3 receiver.

    Now go back to the main screen and go to videos and add a video source such as the one holding all your media.
     
  3. motionographer

    motionographer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for reply. :smashin:

    Weirdly enough I tried XBMC, went to audi, chose optical (I couldn't see the ac3 receiver tick box - maybe not in Lion). XBMC wouldn't play my test file in surround. But I went into QT 7 and it played full 5.1!
    maybe XBMC changed some settings. I believe OS X Lion is a bit buggy with DD surround.

    Cheers
     
  4. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Try Plex instead. Far simpler to set up and more solid overall.
     
  5. malk

    malk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +421
    +1....much easier,and does all the same stuff.
     
  6. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,788

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice