Mac Mini HTPC and 3D............?

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by gilford, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,611
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    I finally bit the bullet and bought a 3D TV over the weekend :clap:

    As a few of you will be aware I use Plex for everything. I was wondering if it's possible to just play 3D stuff like a normal movie and it work fine?

    Cheers
     
  2. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,044
    It would deppend on the HDMI interfaces being used between the device streaming the content to the HDMI interface on your TV. There shouldn't be any problem in relation to side by side video as used by TV broadcasters, but sequential 3D as used for 3D Blu-ray titles needs HDMI 1.4 in order to be recognised as a viable format by the EDID.
     
  3. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    I have tested SBS 3D via both Mac Mini and ATV3 and can confirm that both work perfectly on my new Panny GT50. :)
     
  4. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,611
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    Watched an SBS 3D version of Avatar last night and it worked fine :):)

    @dante01 what is sequential 3D? Is that better than the SBS Sky use on their 3D channel?
     
  5. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,044

    This may help to explain it:
    HD 101: The difference between sequential and side by side 3D -- Engadget


    The 3D video you get from 3D Blu-ray titles is almost always sequential while 3D TV broadcasts and 3D games use the lesser side by side method because it requires less bandwidth.
     
  6. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,611
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    Thanks, I'm new to all this!

    Which is the better one?
     
  7. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,044
    Sequential because it will give you the full resolution of the video in a single frame. Side by side uses the same frame to output two images so is technically of a lesser resolution.

    Side by side 3D is an attempt to eliminate the excessive bandwidth demands of sequential 3D. With the side by side method two images are displayed on the screen at the same time instead of in sequential order.

    3D TVs must convert the side by side image in order to produce the 3D image. This means that the 3D TV has to cut the two images apart and then stretch them to fill the other half of the screen. The images are then displayed in sequential order. This means that the quality is not as good as it would be in comparison the direct sequential 3D video.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2012
  8. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,611
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    Thanks for that mate!
     
  9. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Yup, cheers from me too as only watched SBS so far. Is it worth getting some new BluRay's to see sequential in action? Is it a big difference?
     
  10. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,044
    I've no 3D TV to test it with. I can only use the experience of others to answer, but the differences are there if you look. I'd personally not go out of my way though, but then again I'm not very interested in 3D.

    If you're already watching 3D Blu-rays then they will already be using sequential 3D as opposed to side by side.

    Sequential 3D content is shown in full resolotion, so if the original is 1280*720 pixels - the frames for the left and for the right eye are also 1280*720 pixels of resolution. In side-by-side 3D content there is a loss of horisontal resolution, as frames for the left and for the right eyes are downsized in half - from 1280*720 pixels of each eye recieves the frames of 640*720 pixels of resolution frames.

    One disadvantage of sequential 3D content is loss of brightness. Each frame is intended for particular eye - left or right, but not both at the same time. For example, if there are 100 frames - only 50 can be viewed by both eyes at the same time. That means up to 50% loss of brightness. So if you are looking for projector and the main purpose will be sequential 3D content you'll benefit from using a brighter PJ.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2012
  11. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    I have mainly been watching Sky content and mostly TV rather than Movies. Might grab a 3D BluRay to try out soon.
     
  12. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,611
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    Whats all this faff regarding HDMI 1.4a then? My HDMI cable is buried in the wall so no chance of changing that :rotfl:
     
  13. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,044
    The version isn't in reference to the cable. Cables are either standard or high speeed and existing (older) hifg speed cables can quite adequately carry 3D sequential video. The HDMI versions refer to the actual interfaces employed by the devices they reside within. HDMI v1.3 lacks the EDID information needed to recognise the 3D sequential video format as being a legitimate video format. This results in sequential 3D not being able to passthrough or be utilised by HDMI interfaces older than version 1.4.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2012
  14. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,611
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    Hmm, it will be interesting to see what will happen with mine then? I think the QED cable I bought when I buried it when we renovated the house was 1.3. I hardly ever spend big money on cables as I think it is a bit of a con but I spent £150 on that cable to "future proof" myself, guess I got that wrong!

    I'll borrow a BD 3D player over the weekend and check back :)
     
  15. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,044
    Cables have never been made in relation to version. There is no such thing as an HDMI version 1.3 or 1.4 cable. There are high and standard speed cables and if your existing cable can convey 1080p without issue then it is a high speed HDMI cable ;)

    More recent categorisation of cables has been clarfied by HDMI org since the introduction of HDMI version 1.4:
    HDMI :: Manufacturer :: HDMI 1.4 :: Finding the Right Cable

    Version is in reference to interfaces and not cables ;)
     
  16. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,765
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,180
    When using my atv for 3d the irritating part is that the GUI itself is not 3d. I would imagine it is the same from a normal apple machine. It is that part and the lack of auto switching between the modes that makes me keep using my oppo bluray player oh and the glorious hd audio :)
     
  17. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,044
    I think that they do this due to health and safety concerns? I think it has to do with fears about menu buttons popping out and hitting people in the eye or face? :confused:
     
  18. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,765
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,180
    Lol :) just a simple 3D signal switch to the TV/Projector would be fine to turn it back to 2D.
     
  19. gilford

    gilford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,611
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welsh riviera........
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    This annoys me with Sky!
     
  20. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Not sure what issue with switching you guys have? Can you explain?

    If its switching to and from 3D that your talking about, then when I watch Sky 3D or SBS 3D via ATV then my Panny GT50 switches automatically between them with no button pressing.
     
  21. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,765
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,180
    When the movie is finished on your atv does the panny automatically go out of 3D mode back to 2D? My Samsung 59" doesn't do that with the atv but it does with my Oppo.
     
  22. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    So yours switches in to 3D but not out?

    I think mine does, but will check tomorrow for sure as you have got me questioning myself now.

    Agree on the non 3D menu btw. Not nice.
     
  23. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,765
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,180
    No it doesn't switch in either. It does on the oppo fully automatic, the tv shows its little box of 3d detected please switch on, and the moment the glasses get enabled everything is cool.
     
  24. Adam K

    Adam K
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Samsung 46ES7000 and Mac Mini running Plex. The TV automatically switches in and out of 3D when I go between the movie and the GUI.
     
  25. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,765
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,180
    Cheers. I got to try and connect a mac. Maybe it's signalling is different than the Apple TV.
     
  26. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Not had a chance to test yet, but the missus is out tonight so I will do some testing.
     
  27. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Tested Avatar in 3D and can confirm it dies indeed switch automatically, both in and out of 3D. Takes a couple of seconds each time but definitely does it. Filmed it for you but can't upload direct. I am sure you believe though? :)

    What TV are you using? Mine is a Panasonic P50GT50 if that's any use?
     
  28. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,765
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,180
    Oh I believe you, why wouldn't I :) Nice new set btw, you like it? Despite being a bit small :p Only joking..

    My is a Samsung 59D6900, as I said with my Oppo Blu-Ray player it does it automatically, with Apple TV it doesn't...Haven't tried it with my MacBook air yet...
     
  29. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    It was a moving in gift for our upstairs Lounge. It is big to the missus as upgraded from 40" which is now in the Family Room. One step at a time! ;-)

    Nice setup you have though!
     
  30. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    42,765
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +16,180
    I was only joking with you :) We 'upgraded' from our old Pioneer 43" earlier this year...It was between the Panny (old model last November) and the Sammy...Then Costco has a deal I couldn't refuse and together with stocking up on the shopping I came home with that. Bit of an impulse as the Pio was still so good...

    Anyway apologies for taking it off-topic...
     

Share This Page

Loading...