Mac mini and Windows, PC peripherals

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by clockworks, Mar 9, 2006.

1. clockworks

clockworks

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +297
    I'm thinking about buying a Mac mini core solo. I've never used a Mac before, so I went to PC World yesterday to play with one (older model). I found the OS very confusing.

This may be a dumb question, but can these new Intel minis run Windows? I'm a bit of a luddite. I still use "classic" desktop, rather than the fancy themes, in XP.

I've got a spare Logitech MX900 mouse. Will all the buttons work in OSX? I normally use the wheel button for "back" in IE.

I couln't even find the web browser and email apps in OSX. What are they called, and where do they hide?

Does the Intel mini handle all the normal screen resolutions, including 1280x1024 and 1360x768.

2. rob_finch

rob_finch

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +94
    The web browser in OS X is called Safari, but you can use Firefox or Opera (my current Windows favourite that I'm going to use on my new mini!). The email app is simply called Mail.

The main selling point to non-Mac users is "BYOKDM - bring your own display, keyboard and mouse", so I presume your Logitech mouse should work just fine, and OS X will use standard screen resolutions with your monitor.

I seriously wouldn't buy a Mac (mini or otherwise) and try to put Windows on it, you might as well look at a PC based clone, such as those by Aopen. However, I would seriously suggest you give OS X a try, I'm sure you'll get used to it in no time.

3. avanzato

avanzato

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +83
    OS X is confusing to a Windows user TBH it's confusing to several long time Mac users I've spoken to as well.

I assume from your comments you want the Mini for it's looks rather than anything else. You can get nice looking PC's, Hoojam and Beblu I think look great and you can use Windows.