1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mac mini and plasma TH-42PD25

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by macbandit, Jan 16, 2005.

  1. macbandit

    macbandit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 42" Panasonic Plasma TH-42PD25. I just bought a mac mini (http://www.apple.com/macmini) and want to plug it into my plasma and use it as a monitor. I am new to all this AV stuff but I know my Macs. The mac has DVI out. My plasma doesn't have DVI in but it has HDMI. I saw that there are converter cables available. How is the quality? It is better/cheaper to buy a hdmi to dvi adapter and just use a DVI cable or to use an adapter cable instead? I need about 25ft in length. Or is there another way? I can use S-video but the quality is poor. There is also a VGA in on the front but I want a rear connection to hide tha cables. I'm also curious what the resolutions will be and will it fill the whole screen?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    get a DVi> HDMI lead Better Cables make great cables and do DVi> HDMI that dont cost the earth (HDMI is DVi-D+Audio).....
     
  3. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    Sorry for going :offtopic: but I am intrigued... did you import a PD25 into the UK or are you based in the US?

    S.
     
  4. macbandit

    macbandit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the US. Paid $2700 for it.
     
  5. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
  6. adrianl

    adrianl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know you wanted to hide the cables but I plug my Mac powerbook into Viera using the vga connection under front flap - the Mac (in that wonderfully mac-like way) automatically selects correct resolution. Excellent results using dvi-vga adapter provided with the powerbook.
     
  7. macbandit

    macbandit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Too much or great deal?
     
  8. macbandit

    macbandit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do the same thing with my 12" powerbook. If there was a VGA connector on the back the problem would be solved. I just hope that the DVI connection does the same by autoselecting the resolutions and looks as clear.
     
  9. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    £1500 sounds really loads of money, I hope you are enjoying it - it cost me a third of that to build my Media Center 2005 PC, but....
     
  10. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,927
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,616
    £1500 for his plasma :laugh:
     
  11. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
  12. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    That's alsohigh res and complete with HDMI socket... sounds like a bargain to me ;) :devil:

    Thanks for the info macbandit :) hope you get your Minimac sorted soon, sounds great actually, shame you can't stick a tuner in it and use it as a media centre of sorts.

    S.
     
  13. macbandit

    macbandit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought about going this route down the road. http://www.elgato.com/index.php?file=products_eyetv500
     
  14. marc_hkg

    marc_hkg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Back to original question: I have no answer but am planning to do the same with a Philips PF9966-42

    My Philips panel came with a DVI to HDMI cable included. In my ignorance, I attempted to hook this up to the analog VGA port on my Dell laptop using a VGA to DVI adaptor - that didn't work of course (now I get it - then I didn't).

    However, the Mac Mini should have digital output in the DVI out so theoretically it should work with the PF9966 plasma.

    Has anyone succesfully hooked up his Mac Mini to a plasma?

    Rgds,

    Marc
     

Share This Page

Loading...