Mac and windows partition on a NAS

Ian1000

Novice Member
I'd like to set up a NAS system connected to a Mac also running windows via bootcamp. Ideally I'd like the files to be accessible to both Mac and windows though I've heard that formatting with exfat will be less efficient than each operating systems own native format. The other option would be to partition the NAS with a Mac and Windows partition and access each partition depending on which operating system I'm running. Is this feasible on a NAS system? Also, is exfat really a less efficient format? Thanks

cjed

Normally you would allow the NAS to format the storage how it wants, then just create SMB shares (which both Windows and Mac can see over the network) and put your files there. If the storage is a network resource, then the client (Windows, Mac or Linux) doesn't need to know what the actual underlying file system format is.

Ian1000

Novice Member
Thanks for that. I'm new to NAS storage and don't know these details. I'm thinking of connecting via 10gbe to a Mac for maximum speed for video editing. If I connect directly via the 10gbe port I take it I'd need to format the drives in a Mac friendly format though if go via a switch it would be in whatever format the NAS wants (and also windows compatible)? Would the second option be less fast?
Thanks

mickevh

Distinguished Member
It won't make difference whether you use as switch or not, the NAS "Shares" will be presented to the network connection the same way in either case. Indeed the NAS or anything else won't have any knowledge of what networking equipment they as connected to - it doesn't need to know (by design.)