MA Bronze or these Jamo Speakers - Which is best

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by ggg666, Sep 20, 2007.

1. ggg666

ggg666
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been browsing this forum for a while now and there are certainly plenty of people on here that know a lot more about this than me. I'm relatively new to this so here's hoping to save myself a lot of time learning and get some good pointers...

I'm buying the Onkyo TX-SR605 and while I like my movies, I would listen to music a lot more often.

I was going to buy this Jamo system as this was my max budget.
    this system from Jamo for £667

But now I'm contemplating the Monitor Audio Bronze AV Package, details and spec here Price I've got is £900

Can someone help me decipher the specs to see how the Jamo stacks up. Following specs are for the floorstanders which I expect are most important for music.. any advice much appreciated. There's no decent audio shop near me so I have to go on reviews until I narrow it down....

::::::::::::::::::
    JAMO S 606
    ::::::::::::::::::

Specifications:
    system 3-way bassreflex
    Woofer (inch/mm) 8 / 203
    Midrange (inch/mm) 2 x 5 / 127
    Tweeter (inch/mm) 1 / 25
    Sensitivity (dB - 2,8V / 1m) 89
    Impedance (Ohm) 6
    Weight (kg/lb) 24.1 / 53.1
    Dimensions (HxWxD/mm/in) 1080x190x345 / 42.5x7.5x13.6
    Frequency Range 42-20,000
    powerLongTerm 130
    powerShortTerm 210

:::::::::::::::::::::
    MONITOR AUDIO BR5
    :::::::::::::::::::::

Frequency Response +/- 3dB 36 Hz - 30 KHz
    Sensitivity ([email protected]) 90dB
    Nominal Impedance (Ohms) 6
    Power Handling R.M.S (W) 120
    Recommended Amplifier Requirements R.M.S (W) 30-120
    Cabinet Design
    Cabinet Design Dual chamber bass reflex – Ported front and rear
    Drive Unit Complement 1 x 5.5" MMP® II Bass 1 x 5.5" MMP® II Bass mid-range, 1 x 1" (25mm) Gold Dome C-CAM® tweeter
    External Dimensions (cm)