M&K SW-85 inwall speakers

FilmWatcher

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi

I'm new to AVforums so bear with me. I have read all the articles on SW-85s as I am in the process of upgrading my system and want to go to a 7.1 and use DVD-Audio/SACD (currently only 5.1) and get a new DVD Player, Receiver and speakers as my current kit is now a few years old.

The front, left and centre can be full size (I'll probably get M&K) but I need to make the surrounds and rear speakers "disappear" to keep the wife happy.

I have recently ceiling mounted by VW-11HT projector and am now feeling brave enough to try to try something perhaps trickier i.e. install SW-85s in the wall for surrounds and rears.

Before I buy them, I have a few questions on the SW-85s please

1. Are they a major pain to fit on a supporting wall i.e. one that has brick behind the plasterboard? From the dimensions it looks like just cutting into the plasterboard won't be deep enough. Will there be any risk of damp from outside if so?

2. Are these 4ohm speakers OK to use with a receiver - I am thinking of getting the fairly new Pioneer VSX-AX5is?

3. Is there any loss in surround experience having inwall vs "normal" dipole or tripole surrounds?

4. Where's the best place to buy M&K in UK (London/Surrey)

Many thanks

Originally posted by FilmWatcher
1. Are they a major pain to fit on a supporting wall i.e. one that has brick behind the plasterboard? From the dimensions it looks like just cutting into the plasterboard won't be deep enough. Will there be any risk of damp from outside if so?

2. Are these 4ohm speakers OK to use with a receiver - I am thinking of getting the fairly new Pioneer VSX-AX5is?

3. Is there any loss in surround experience having inwall vs "normal" dipole or tripole surrounds?

4. Where's the best place to buy M&K in UK (London/Surrey)

Many thanks