1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

M&K or Genies or ??? for AX5i

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by uncleg, Nov 18, 2004.

1. uncleg

uncleg
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

I am a newbie to the home cinema world but I have been reading this site for some time.

I have decided to enter the field and I am somewhat confused. :confused:

I am planning to buy the Pioneer 868 and the AX5i, but I am not sure on the speaker/sub set up!!

The system will be 90% movies and from reading this forum M&K seem to be favourite.

I went to Sevenoakes and all the guy kept ranging on about was the Xenon range. When I asked about the k series (recomemmeded by a majority on this site) he dismissed them and went on about the Xenon range.

After annoying me I left!!

But now I see that the MS Genies are also a good buy. Hence the confusion.

So help is needed PLEASE!! - movies is priority and suitable ones for the amp and dvd I have chosen.

Room is small so columns etc are out as are wall brackets - will have to be stands. :lease:

Price can vary if the produce is the best!!

Thanks

2. recruit

recruit

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Uncleg,
    The Xenon range are quite expensive but are very good but so are the K series of speakers.
    The Genies have had rave reviews and i think Tons_of_Fun would be the best person to comment on that range, also they are quite alot less than the M&K's but it is all down to preference and your wallet.
    Can you demo both the K & Xenon range of speakers as i would suggest doing that atleast to see which you prefer.
    Personally i would say the M&K's would be better than the Genies but by how much i would not know?

John

3. Ed Selley

Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,331