1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

m&k help

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by mark bessant, Aug 11, 2005.

1. mark bessant

mark bessant

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi everyone, this is my second time on this site so be gentle with me. im very new to home entertainment and i have just spent alot of money on some expensive equipment and have come accross a big problem. and hopefully someone could give me some good advice on what to do!

i have bought a pioneer vsx-ax5i amp and a set of m&k speakers, 3 x kx7, and 4 x kx4 tripole speakers for the rear. the problem i have is that all seven speakers there impedance is only 4 ohms and speaking to pioneer yesterday they told me that it is not a good idea to run these speakers on this amp, if i turn the sound up that it would trip the amp and maybe damage the speakers reding the pioneer amp manual you can change the speaker impedance to either 6 ohms, 8 ohms, or 16 ohms in the programming, so if i programme it will this work o.k

i thought that all small satalite speakers were basiclly the same ,

has this been a very expensive mistake or is there another answer :suicide: .

cheers
    mark b

2. recruit

recruit

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Mark,
    Could i just ask did you buy all you're equipment from the same dealer and if so were they not adviseing and helping you choose the equipment?

I am not trying to sound negative but it should be there responsibility if something goes wrong.

My friend at work runs the M&K 851 speakers thru a denon 3805 and they run fine and even at high levels, yes the amp gets hot but that does happen with most amps anyway.

I would speak to you're dealer 1st and go from there, but i think you should be ok as the Pioneer is a good amp and quite powerful too.

Regards
    John

3. mark bessant

mark bessant