1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

M-Audio Audiophile 2496/192 owners: ASIO over SPDIF?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by tk2001, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. tk2001

    tk2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    Hi,

    I am currently trying out an Audiophile 192 on my HTPC using just the cards SPDIF out but I can't seem to get any sound from music playback using ASIO via SPDIF out on both Winamp 5 or J River Media Center.

    When I select 'Wavout' or 'DirectSound as output, music playback works fine as usual.

    I have noticed that whenever there is sound output from the 192 by
    either dvd movies or normal music via Wavout, on the 'Monitor Mixer'
    there is sound activity coming from the 'WavOut S/PDIF' panel.

    However, music playback through ASIO shows sound activity from 'WavOut
    1/2' panel which suggests to me that maybe the 192 is unable to output
    ASIO over its SPDIF output?

    Any help would be much appreciate. :)
     
  2. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hmm, if you card is anything like mine you should set it as follows;

    Windows sound device; all of these should be set to M-Audio Multi
    M-Audio Control Panel; set all outputs to monitor mixer

    give it a go, see what happens
     
  3. SimonInd

    SimonInd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    My 2496 spits out 44.1kHz PCM over S/PDIF with no problems using ASIO. I've tried this with WinAmp and Foobar ( output has to be set to 32bit fixed point to work in Foobar ) at a variety of sampling rates.

    Cheers

    Simon
     
  4. tk2001

    tk2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    CrispyXUK,

    I can't seem set all outputs to monitor mixel...

    Here is exact how mine is set up:

    Control Panel > Sounds and Audio Devices >

    Under the Audio tab there is:

    Sound Playback > There are two options for this one. M-Audio Delta AP192 SPDIF and M-Audio Delta AP192 1/2. I have mine set to SPDIF.

    Where can I set all outputs to monitor mixer?
     
  5. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Maybe you cant with that card, leave it as 1/2 in windows and play with the cards control panel
     
  6. tk2001

    tk2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    SimonInd,

    How do you have your 2496 set-up under the windows Control Panel and on the M-Audio Monitor Mixer?
     
  7. tk2001

    tk2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    What options can you chosse from under the Sound Playback setting?
     
  8. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Mine is setup like this;
     

    Attached Files:

  9. tk2001

    tk2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    CrispyXUK,

    Thanks for snapshot.

    That is very interesting. Using the M-Audio Monitor Mixer > Patchbay/Router > under the H/W Out SPDIF, mine is set to WavOut SPDIF by default and the 'Monitor Mixer' is grayed out and unselectable.

    Can I ask what driver are using and how exactly did you install your 2496?

    I just downloaded the latest WDM drivers and installed them.

    I have no idea why 'monitor mixer' is grayed out under the H/W Out SPDIF...
     
  10. Trevor White

    Trevor White
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys,
    I have just bought the m-audio audiophile 192 and doing the setup now (not finished yet) but I have read that you can bypass the patchpanel and sondcard mixer and go direct to S/PDIF. So if you want to play a WAV from disk in the most direct way thats how you'd do it.

    Have you tried playing sound with S/PDIF select as H/W out.

    I'm going to have a play tonight, I'll let you know how I get on. Please also see my independent thread requesting some info on this very subject.

    Regards
    Trevor
     

Share This Page

Loading...