Lunch time quickie. HDMI?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Jed, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +35
    I now need to get a new TV or HDMI switch box,

    Is there any loss of Picture/sound quality if you use a switch box. I am only going to buy the £24 2 way one which is all i need but won't bother if it effects quality.

    It will be connected to a Samsung LE40R73
    Virgin + HD
    Oppo 981



    Please be quick only got 20 mins then back out to work :(

    Jed.
     
  2. Pecker

    Pecker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    22,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,612
    I use a switch box - no problems, PQ or otherwise - go for it!

    Steve W
     
  3. Sonic67

    Sonic67
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    46,362
    Products Owned:
    12
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +25,401
    I'd have thought it's largely all digital. Unless you are getting interference from something or using long cables or some high resistance it should all look the same.
     
  4. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +35
    I have heard that there are powered and non powered ones. Does this make a difference.

    Like i said in the first post i have found one for £24.99 + P&P which ones are you usiing.

    LMK
    Jed.
     
  5. sb09

    sb09
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +14
    Currys digital do a manual switching 4-in, 1-out box for £29.99 (and another one at £99.99 but it doesn't pour you a beer as it switches, so I wouldn't dream of buying it at that price). Not sure of makes or metre length of cheaper one (the more expensive one I recall had a 6m HDMI-out).

    Wouldn't normally buy any accessories from Currys as vastly over-priced, but only looked myself this lunchtime in prep for PS3 purchase idc.
     
  6. Pecker

    Pecker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    22,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,612
    I've heard that powered ones are best, too.

    Can't confirm that, though.

    Mine's powered, but I haven't tried an unpowered one.

    Steve W
     
  7. Sonic67

    Sonic67
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    46,362
    Products Owned:
    12
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +25,401
    With a long digital run you need to 'refresh' the peaks and troughs of the pulses to make them clearly register as a zero or a one. I imagine, as I'm going back to my OU study. So that's why you need a powered one.
     
  8. TrevorS

    TrevorS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +175
    The advantage of a powered box is normally that the signals are buffered, which means there should be no box related losses. An unpowered box means the original HDMI source drives both cables, plus the box contacts and circuitry -- there's a greater chance of exceeding the drive capability of the source.

    FWIW: I believe the minimum drive spec for HDMI is 2m (this should be met with even the cheapest available functional cable).
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,519
    Hello Jed

    The very low cost manual HDMI selectors are a mixed bag - some folk say they get great results others not so great and they can definitely degrade the image on the Output side of the selector.

    Also be aware some Samsung Displays are mighty fussy when using them with any type of HDMI switch.

    Joe
     
  10. reckless

    reckless
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Joe, just wondered if you could expand on that a little please? How exactly do they degrade the image if it's digital?

    Sorry if it's a stupid question and I'm showing my ignorance but I was just interested in this issue.
     
  11. TrevorS

    TrevorS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +175
    Two possibilities, it could simply weaken the signal and it could skew the signal. Either could result in visible problems (sparkles or even complete failure). Even a digital signal has certain requirements to meet.
     
  12. HeweyBoy101

    HeweyBoy101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancing, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +82
    I've come accross HDMI "handshake" problems with cheaper boxes. HDMI can be a fussy technology at the best of times - it can work fine for a while and then the signal loses it's lock for no obvious reason. Easy to sort out, just annoying. I have a powered remote controlled QED 4-way box. It was expensive at £225 12 months ago. I'm sure they are a lot cheaper now. I just counted this as part of the overall cost for my new TV, which only had one HDMI input.
     
  13. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    I got an octavia from Joe F and its worked very very well. it is powered and not the cheapest but it also auto senses the inputs on power up, so i dont have to keep manualy switching the thing. No hanshake issues at all.

    Infact thanks Joe, works a treat but im running out of inputs already:)
     
  14. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,519
    Hello reckless

    Digital or not its still an electrical signal with no error correction at the receive end of the signal run.

    If you cause enough signal loss/degradation through the HDMI selector the HDMI receiver at the Display cant see the whole of the original signal and you get sparkles, drop out and or a distorted fuzzy image.

    I've spoken to lots of folk who have tried the low cost selectors and many don't have a great experience using them - the quality of the switch gear is simply to poor to carry the HDMI signal without causing degradation.

    Joe
     
  15. reckless

    reckless
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thanks for the responses and info :thumbsup:
     
  16. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    My experience with manual HDMI switchers is very poor. These things don't like loosing sync and often this means complete reboot of devices or even un plugging. I gave up and would not recommend them. They are VERY equipment dependent.
     
  17. reckless

    reckless
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    My experience of these is very limited. I bought one in February as I was already using the HDMI port on my Pio 435 for my DVD player when I bought a ps3. I was simply disconnecting and reconnecting but that obviously wasn't ideal. I intended to buy a HDMI switching amp but decided to wait until after my summer hols so needed a stopgap.

    I bought a cheapy from maplins (£70 down to £35) in the sale. It's worked well enough for my needs with no sparklies or poor picture etc. The only problem I get is intermittent sound drop outs for a few seconds but I had that fault previously on my plasma using just the LG (with a variety of leads) and again with the ps3 (again using a variety of leads).

    No idea if my probs are indicative of a fault with the plasma or whether HDMI is just flaky. :thumbsdow

    However, I don't need reboots or to unplug items and I've never had any error messages or lost sync etc. Biggest gripe is that the push buttons could be better.
     
  18. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +35
    Update......

    I bought the mentioned 4 way switch from Currrys for £30

    So far no problems and to tell you the truth i cannot see any differnce :)
    Watched Kill Bill HD this morning it it looked fantastic.

    One bad thing bout the switch is the brightness of the LED's on the front. It's blinding. If anyone has the Oppo 981 it's the same blue as the eject button but 3 times brighter. You'll deffo have to obscure it somehow.

    Jedster.
     
  19. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,190

Share This Page

Loading...