Lumagen Earthing?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Thunder, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi, my Lumagen HDP is causing a ground loop hum through my new ATC active speakers. As the Lumagen is an American bit of kit I pressume its double insulated so therefore can I disconnect the earth in the plug to eliminate the ground loop? I have done this before with amps built for the american market which only require a live and neutral connection:)
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,101
    Do a search over at the Lumagen forum and you should find a thread where someone else had this issue with active monitors. I'm sure Jim and Pat went through the procedures to eliminate it. Just can't remember off top of my head. If you can't find it let me know and I'll do some digging.

    Gordon
     
  3. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Cant seem to find it, have tried about ten different words relating to hum, audio, ground loop etc:confused:
     
  4. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +942
    Thunder, could you run a separate earth wire from the Lumagen to wherever you have the speakers conected?

    Nick
     
  5. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    I dont believe that the Lumagen itsself should need earthing as our cousins over the Atlantic only use two pin plugs. But Im not sure about the offboard power supply supplied with Lumagens in the UK:confused: It would be really easy if I could just disconnect the earth in the plug:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...