1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Low volume from 'front' speakers..

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by nipbiplip, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. nipbiplip

    nipbiplip
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On my Manor
    Ratings:
    +570
    I currently have an Eltax AVR280 av-amp (yes I know, I know, but a smooth talking Richer Sounds employee talked me into it), and I seem to have very low volumes from the front L+R speakers (not centre). Decent (old) set of speakers are being used which gave a fantastic sound on my previous amp. The impedance, etc match the amp.

    This resulting sound makes watching films in 5.1/DTS very annoying as most of the movies soundtrack is 'lost'.

    Anything I can do, or should I bite the bullet and buy something else?

    I have been looking at the Pioneer 301 (budget very tight).
     
  2. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    just turn up the channel levels, the speakers may be harder to drive than the rest
     
  3. nipbiplip

    nipbiplip
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On my Manor
    Ratings:
    +570
    Just tried that. Manual states that the balance button will allow me to define the level of each speaker. In fact, all it does do is shove all the sound from L to R and vice versa (exactly what a balance should do, I suppose).

    Frustrated.
     
  4. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    cant you turn them both up, leaving the centre and rears at standard?
     
  5. nipbiplip

    nipbiplip
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On my Manor
    Ratings:
    +570
    It appears not.

    It also appears that this is well and truly the worst amp in the world.

    Ever.
     
  6. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,678
    When did you get it? If it wasn't too long ago you should be able to take it back, tell them your not happy with it, that should be enough and you shouldn't need to go into details.
     
  7. nipbiplip

    nipbiplip
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On my Manor
    Ratings:
    +570
    Too long now (already explored that avenue).

    My own fault really. Looks like I'll be splashing the cash (card) again!

    Any opinions on the aforementioned Pioneer 301?
     
  8. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,678
    I got my dad one from richer when they were having an open box sale, it seems pretty good and goes pretty loud without hearing any distortion. It does lack the latest codec's like prologic 2 and is 'only' 5.1. All in all I'd say its a great sounding little amp but it wouldn't be a keeper for me.

    I'd say its a little more difficult to setup properly (customising all the setting ect...) and only provides switching via the scart sockets with no other inputs or outputs except the digital audio (3 digital optical and one co-ax i believe) it also has 'camcorder' input on the front which is composite video and stereo pair of phono. It does fully support RGB through 4xSCART(3 in 1 out) (composite and s-video also via scart) though which is good news as its as good as component if your display supports it.

    I'm sure it'll be a step up from the eltax but tell us your budget and we may be able to find better.

    Are you set on a slim line unit? Are there any manufacturers you particularly like, and finaly what feature do you want apart from great sound :)
     
  9. nipbiplip

    nipbiplip
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On my Manor
    Ratings:
    +570
    Cheers for help!

    Yeah, needs to be slimline (av stand with about 24 other items in it). budget of no more than £140. No particular features apart from DTS+DD 5.1

    Tv connected from scart and dvd connected from digi coax
     
  10. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,678
    Sounds like the pio will suit your needs, I got mine for £70 i think, but it was an open box sale and it was missing the manual so you might not find it for that price. The radio reception seems decent through it too, which is a nice bonus.
     
  11. nipbiplip

    nipbiplip
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On my Manor
    Ratings:
    +570
    I think I'll be going for that...

    ..wonder when they're having another 'open box' sale?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  12. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,678
  13. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    im sure i saw a Yamaha on their website going like the proverbial budgie (cheap...heh..sorry, love that joke)......mighta been around £100...

    check it out

    not all branches are likely to have it but you might be lucky or they might bring it across from one to the other...
     
  14. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    RXV350, £100, like i say i dunno which branches have it, but im sure it'll be three times as good as what u already got...lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...