low volume and 5:1 sound on HD channels

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by bob-avf, Apr 23, 2007.

  1. bob-avf

    bob-avf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Does anyone know why the volume is lower on HD channels compared to the normal SD channels ? Is there an official SKy reason for this ? I need to turn up the volume by about 10 points for HD channels ? Is there any fix for the box ?

    Also, I see that some of you mention 5:1 sound on HD - what do I need to get this if I dont connect through my cinema system ?

    cheers

    Bob
     
  2. Scapegoat

    Scapegoat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +137
    Not sure I've noticed this myself.

    However on the subject of HD sound- I have noticed that HD channels seem to be 'delayed' compared to the SD ones.

    Switching between the 2 versions (still in the new HD box and new large TV mode at moment - drives other half mad!) and I hear the same sentence repeated if I go from SD to HD.

    Anyone else?
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    DD 5.1 via SKY is broadcast at a lower volume probably due to dynamic range compression however the quality is unaffected and a few clicks on the volume dial of the amp covers this. It bothers some people more than others perhaps in part depending upon how their individual speakers are setup and how often they switch between stereo and 5.1 channels.

    The encoding and decoding of the mpeg4 HD channels is a longer process than for the mpeg2 SD channels hence the delay, you see/hear a similar thing for terrestrial analogue against DTT and Dsat.
     
  4. RSVdaz

    RSVdaz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    yeah volume is quieter on your telly through hdmi. 5.1 sound - i get mine through my surround sound system via an optical lead.

    i have noticed though, when using the amp, there is a delay between picture and sound..ie the sound is out of sync with the picture..i know in the set up you can change the delay..but i cant get them to match up..anyone else got this problem and what have you got the setting at?
     
  5. pixm

    pixm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Knutsford
    Ratings:
    +2
    What's really annoying is when your watching a programme like Lost in 5:1 and then the adverts come on (which are obvioulsly in stereo) and blow your eardrums away :mad:. Sky should realise this and set the output volumes accordingly.
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    With a DVR adverts should never be an issue especially with LOST which touchwood continues to be on Anytime ad and dog free:)
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975


    Flat panel displays take a small amount of time to create the picture (longer than a CRT anyway) and with the audio being routed via another path and with no extra processing delay they fall out of sync.
    Many amps have built in delays on the digital inputs and the option on SKY+HD has I suspect been one of the most used new functions.

    I never had to use any sort of audio delay on SKY+ (5.1 or stereo) but I've had to use 60ms on the HD box with the same LCD, this has proven to be spot on across the whole channel range.
     
  8. Whitehot

    Whitehot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When watching a HD channel press the Help button on your sky remote then change the audio description option to ON increased volume is now there.
     
  9. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975


    Yep but you are then not listening to DD5.1 audio which kinda defeats the point;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...