• Welcome to AVForums running Xenforo 2.2. The upgrade from 2.1 was successful and finished in just 90 minutes, well before 8am. The most notable changes in 2.2 are listed in this post.

Low quality reception on sky ITALIA HD

rovertos

Standard Member
hello,

I get very low quality reception for sky ITALIA HD channels.

for all other sd channels of sky italia i get a very good reception.

can you help please? I am quite new in these stuff

Ghostleader

What size dish & your location please?, it will help with your question!:)

Last edited by a moderator:

logiciel

With any digital TV channel you should get either good reception or none at all.
Could you give us more details of the ways in which that channel is of very low quality?

rovertos

Standard Member
basically the channel freezes all the time and i get low signal quality. whenever I can actually see the channel on the TV the quality is excellent. But soon after it freezes and then it says no signal.

logiciel

OK thanks - Ghostleader may be able to suggest an explanation and solution now.

rovertos

Standard Member
on my edision argus mini I get Signal level: 85% and signal quality as low as 21%. I can only see the channel when signal quality rises at about 60% (but this doesnt happen with sky italia HD channels)

pedro2000uk

Distinguished Member
Are any SD channels having similar problems?

You could have signal quality issues that the Edison is easily dealing with OK on SD channels but it's buffers & processing speeds can't cope with on HD.

The problem/s could be at the dish/ lnb/ coax or a receiver fault, but that difference in signals on Hotbird would make me check all is OK at the dish 1st & check the cable too.. to give the receiver the best signals & minimum error handling.

Could you check the receiver on another dish &/or try another receiiver on your dish?

Last edited:

rovertos

Standard Member
I will try to check my receiver on another dish and check my dish with a dreambox 800 hd.