1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

low-cost plasma (lol, stop laughing now)

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by ric_hall, Dec 5, 2004.

1. ric_hall

ric_hall

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't like submitting posts this vague, but I have little experience with Plasma displays and somewhat of a timelimit(by the 9th say) .

I have been asked for advice regarding purchasing a plasma screen around the 1.6 grand mark(2 grand max), with the only requirements being that it must be new i.e. have a full warranty, be wall mountable, have an analogue/digital(either) tuner, and have at least one RGB capable scart(in) .

Normally I'd go off and read reviews about the technology at this point and then individual product reviews, but they are few and I don't trust the magazine or manufacturer reviews anyway . Basically I want to know about any concerns with using a plasma(will be general usage - TV/DVD), such as resolution, burn-in, screen quality, product life, picture quality(shouldn't that be first in the list ;) ), aesthetics(apparently some offer 'control boxes' i.e. power switch, brightness, etc. that are not attached to the screen directly to improve the look of it when wall mounted, and to avoid accidental damage), and anything else you can think of .

Any help would be appreciated, and I'll have a proper look through this forum tomorrow for back posts(too late to spend hours trawling through posts) .

>>added - seeing various offers for installation(wall mounting) running at £200-300 - now I assume this includes the stand/bracket at around £100+, and I've been hearing concerns that insurance companies won't pay up(damages) unless it has been professionally installed . What are your opinions on this and is it really worth the extra money?

2. Blu Ray

Blu Ray

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12