Lounge Audio set up advice

phantome46

Novice Member
Good evening. I am a real novice with the home audio setup and would really appreciate the help and advice to try and get my system as good as i can get with the level of kit I have invested in to date.

My living room is 7 meters in length and 5.5 meters width.

I currently have the following kit

Pioneer VSK-930K AV receiver - with which i would like to have the dolby atmos set up but I am confused as to how to connect to the amp either in 7.2 or 5.2.2 modes as per the manual.

Front Left and right - Cambridge Audio SX80
Centre - Cambridge Audio Minx Min 20
Rear Left and Right - I currently have Cambridge Audio C155 ceiling speakers
Surround Left and Right - Cambridge Audio Minx Min 20
Front and Rear Cambridge Audio Minx x300 subwoofers (to each side of the room - one closer to front and one to the back)

I had then considered having at the front facing the ceiling
Cambridge Audio Minx Min 20 behind each SX80 - pointing to the ceiling

So here is where I am totally out of my depth with questions

- Do the ceiling speakers that i have placed in the ceiling (1.3m from the back wall in the room - above the sofa facing the TV) serve as the rear speakers or are they better served as Top middle speakers and then I have a pair of Minx 20's as the rears?

- Should both subs be at the front of the set up pointing into the room?

I have attached the instructions manual link to my receiver if this helps - but i'd like advice before I cable the room and get the locations of the speakers wrong.
Pioneer user manual—Side 20

side 20 shows the different room setups and I am looking at option A or B

I would really value the input and advice please

Damp Squid

It’s a 7 channel receiver, so if you want to utilise the ceiling speakers you will have to go 5.2.2. (2 subs and 2 overhead).

Set the ceiling speakers as top middles if this is an option, otherwise top fronts.