1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lots of questions!

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by topher bear, May 10, 2004.

1. topher bear

topher bear

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    First of let me apologize for the length of post, but I do have lots to ask, and any advice is greatfully recieved!

Hi,

I am looking to buy a new digital camcorder. I am new to the game so I would like to ask for some advice. I am knowledgeable about computers (being a software engineer and home PC building enthusiast) and have a Physics Degree so you can get quite technical (probably preferred, in fact! :)

What do I want of my Camcorder? Well, on the whole I only really want it for family moments and holidays etc at the moment, and I want to be able to display them on a TV (as well as computer) and, eventually, be able to project them onto a small home projection system (whatever might be around in, say 10 years time! – Memories of my dads old slide shows, and I’d like to be able to do the same for my children too!). I also like the idea doubling up as a Camera, as I won’t be able to persuade the wife in order to buy two new gadgets!

I’m not really bothered about getting perfect pictures at the largest size, although I would like reasonably good quality on my 24” Widescreen TV. This brings me to the other thing, the true widescreen capture. How does having a widescreen CCD effect the overall comparative performance (they only ever seem to quote total pixels and photo pixels in a 4:3 format) and how would a 16:9 recording be displayed on a 4:3 TV (I am not talking about the pseudo widescreen here, that to me seems worse than useless since my TV has zoom mode anyway, which will cut off the top and bottom itself!)?