1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LOTR (4 disc) not DVD-ROM compatible??

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by Jonny1973, Nov 8, 2002.

  1. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    It's likely that it's just not compatible with your drive. Some drives and or discs are unusually fussy. I bought a new drive after a few encounters with this. It happens with players too. I'm sure i remember the matrix not playing in those Wharfedales that Tesco were knocking out last Xmas?
     
  3. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Screw it!!

    I'lll just buy a Philips 963SA DVD player when it comes out.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    A new drive is £40 and takes 5 minutes to fit. Your PJ gives best results via vga everyone says...I don't know I aint got one. Surely it's worth that to get it working. I now have a drive that seems compatible with anything, except a rented 'space cowboys' that was probably knackered. It's a panasonic slot load drive, don't think it's current any more, but someone here will be up to date to tell you what you need.
     
  5. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Try here for a new drive:

    The pioneer is pre region modded, but not in stock at the moment. The liteon is spoken of well.
     
  6. fat tom

    fat tom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    works ok on my hitachi gd-7500 with hollywood+.....

    oh well...
     
  7. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, VGA running in Wide480 mode is better than my current DVD player but the Philips 963SA is progressive scan (NTSC/PAL) and is supposed to run a PC very close in terms of picture quality.

    I hate the idea of having a PC in a lounge.
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I can't imagine my lounge, or in fact anywhere but the bog, without one....
     
  9. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Saved you some money and hasle then, good people.
     

Share This Page

Loading...