LOTR (4 disc) not DVD-ROM compatible??

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by Jonny1973, Nov 8, 2002.

  1. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    It's likely that it's just not compatible with your drive. Some drives and or discs are unusually fussy. I bought a new drive after a few encounters with this. It happens with players too. I'm sure i remember the matrix not playing in those Wharfedales that Tesco were knocking out last Xmas?
     
  3. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Screw it!!

    I'lll just buy a Philips 963SA DVD player when it comes out.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    A new drive is £40 and takes 5 minutes to fit. Your PJ gives best results via vga everyone says...I don't know I aint got one. Surely it's worth that to get it working. I now have a drive that seems compatible with anything, except a rented 'space cowboys' that was probably knackered. It's a panasonic slot load drive, don't think it's current any more, but someone here will be up to date to tell you what you need.
     
  5. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Try here for a new drive:

    The pioneer is pre region modded, but not in stock at the moment. The liteon is spoken of well.
     
  6. fat tom

    fat tom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    works ok on my hitachi gd-7500 with hollywood+.....

    oh well...
     
  7. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, VGA running in Wide480 mode is better than my current DVD player but the Philips 963SA is progressive scan (NTSC/PAL) and is supposed to run a PC very close in terms of picture quality.

    I hate the idea of having a PC in a lounge.
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    I can't imagine my lounge, or in fact anywhere but the bog, without one....
     
  9. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Saved you some money and hasle then, good people.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice