Lost Voice Audio for DVDs in KMPlayer - help!

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by indiegirl, May 27, 2008.

  1. indiegirl

    indiegirl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

    I have Mediaportal running KMPlayer as my preferred DVD / video player. When playing ripped DVDs / AVI's (anything from file, really) I have no problem with the audio.

    However, popped a DVD in today and got the soundtrack; but no vocal audio. Fiddled about a bit (changing settings in AC3 and KMPlayer's Audio options randomly) and got a very low audio of everything.

    Am I missing some codecs for the DVD perchance?

    Or, is there an alternative player that I could try to see if it's codecs or KMPlayer?

    I should probably mention that I have a 3450 running DVI-out>HDMI into my TV, and a Trust 514DX running coaxial out to my amplifier.

    I can't work out what I've changed, or haven't enabled!

    TIA
     
  2. indiegirl

    indiegirl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did some further investigation on this, and it appears to be on the older 2ch DVDs that I lose the voice channel; no amount of tweaking the audio settings in KMPlayer and / or AC3filter seems to change this.

    Is there a specific setting for 2ch DVD tracks?
     
  3. Singh

    Singh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    On 2 channel sound tracks there is no separate voice channel!

    Have you tried a different AC3 decoder, such as the one built into ffdshow?
     
  4. indiegirl

    indiegirl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I thought that might be the case.... obviously it's trying to decode an additional track that doesn't exist...

    I'll have a play with it and will try FFDShow too. It's going to be a pain if I have to switch decoders based on the channels on DVDs...
     
  5. Singh

    Singh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Well if ffdshow works, then you can use it for everything :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice