Lost : Season 1 UK Blu Ray Release problems......

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD discs' started by DaveH4444, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. DaveH4444

    DaveH4444
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +490
    Sorry if this is in the wrong place but just wondering if anyone has Lost Season 1 on uk Blu Ray yet.

    I bought it today from Asda to play on my USA PS3 as its region free but all the menus are coming up in Japanese & i cant find any way to turn them to english.

    My PS3 has all the setting set to English so it must be the disc that is selecting the foreign menus.


    Anyone had this problem before or knows how to sort it , would appreciate any ideas.

    Wondering if its a problem with the uk released Blu ray or could it not be compatable with my usa ps3.
     
  2. Hooligaani

    Hooligaani
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +956
    Sorry I can't help you with your problem but can you tell me what subtitle tracks the UK edition has? Specifically looking for Finnish.

    Cheers!
     
  3. DaveH4444

    DaveH4444
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +490
    Yes it has Finnish subs.
     
  4. thedrazen

    thedrazen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +326
    i just got this today. Once you insert the disk it will have a screen asking for your langauge a lot of choice there and just click the top one for english.

    In my experience skipping through the menus using chapter skip or pressing the menu putting can cause this.
     
  5. kwebbotaurus

    kwebbotaurus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    How much is it in ASDA?
     
  6. druizg

    druizg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you tell me if has subtitle or
    language in spanish ?

    Thanks.
     
  7. multix

    multix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have it danish subtitle and anybody knows witch subtitle season 2 have??

    Thanks:thumbsup:
     
  8. thedrazen

    thedrazen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +326
    Subtitles For Both Lost s1 and 2 blu ray are as follows

    english, english hard of hearing,Italian,German, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Polish, Turkish, Russian and Japanese.

    Audio Is

    DTS 5.1 English(5.1HD), Italian, German
    DTS HD 2.0 Japanese
    Dobly 2.0 Polish/ Russian.

    As both season 1 and 2 were released together the above applies to both.
     
  9. multix

    multix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks:thumbsup:
     
  10. neonism

    neonism
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there, i have a question about the uk blu-ray editions of lost season 1 and 2

    are the commentaries subtitled (in english) or they are just audio tracks? and what about the extras, are they subtitled in english?

    thanks in advance
     
  11. Goooner

    Goooner
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    38,638
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +17,200
    Coinceidentally, I happened to be in there earlier and noticed it on the shelf. It was £45:eek:

    So, tempted as I was, it stayed on the shelf. At least until such time as I might get both seasons 1 & 2 for that sort of price.
     
  12. thedrazen

    thedrazen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +326
    Commentaries are not subtitled unfortantly neither are the extras sorry.
     
  13. neonism

    neonism
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh well :)
     
  14. Vern

    Vern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    This boxset of both season 1+2 is £68 in hmv:eek:
     
  15. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,485
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    I have this problem on my Panasonic BD30. All menu options send me back to the menu, I can't play an episode.

    I get this menu on my Sony S350, but on the BD30 it goes straight to what I assume to be the message about it could take 2-3 mins to load depending on your player etc...

    You are not given the option.
     
  16. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,485
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    Okay, I've worked out what the problem is.

    Despite being region ABC on the back, if I set my BD30 (modded) to region B or C I get the menu, can select English and everything is fine as far as I can see.

    If I set the BD30 to region A then I get the problem described here. I also get the same problem on my Japanese PS3.

    Also contrary to what I said before it does play on BD30 when set to region A if I select Season Play and then select the second option on the following page.
     
  17. rdev87

    rdev87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem as in the OP and nothing seems to work. I have an American PS3 and cannot change the language from Japanese :(

    I bought the 1-6 boxset and they've decided to region lock season 4, but that's another matter.
     
  18. mikegambit

    mikegambit
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +128
    This is likely because the PS3 is reading that the disc you've put in is somehow connected to the UK which is R2 for dvd , and Japan is also R2 for dvd.

    I have some region free Warner dvd's from the US and playback in my multiregion player gives English menus but playback in the PS3 makes it play Japanese text at the start but the regular English menus appear.

    I think you will find an option during loading or perhaps even on the Jap menu itself to switch to English although unless you can read Japanese you'll have to find this by trial and error.

    Your only other alternative is to play them on a UK player.
    MY son has UK sets of Lost for season 3 and 4.
    I will try these in my multiregion player to see I can emulate the problem.

    Edit- I tried season 3 UK in my Panny player set to Region A and sure enough it was all Japanese although the "season play" words do appear in English so as long as you use that you should keep up with where you were before without knowing what the mostly meaningless titles are.

    If Jap audio or subs appear these should be switchable with your remote.

    Once you get to the bonus features I guess you'll have to play it by ear .
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  19. rdev87

    rdev87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Appreciate the effort mate, I can just about navigate to episodes but I bought the thing mainly for the bonus features! Gonna get a refund I think, or someone who can speak Japanese.

    Thanks anyway!
     
  20. mikegambit

    mikegambit
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +128
    You'll still be able to access the bonus features.
    Shame you bought the boxset as I still need season 6
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice