Losing BBC3 and 4 when off air? DVB-S

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by fearghost, Mar 14, 2006.

1. fearghost

fearghost
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm relatively new to the world of MCE and recently installed OEM 2005 on my system.

I decided to go the Technotrend DVB-S 1500 (With BDA Drivers) route and have managed to pick up pretty much all of the Astra 28.2 Free To Air Channels after scanning. I have the full Sky EPG and mapped it to the channels I selected.

Everything appeared fine until the next morning when BBC3 and BBC4 were off air. Checking the 'guide' I found that those channels had disappeared? I tried re-scanning after 7pm but the channels were not found again?

Any clues as to what is happening would be much appreciated. Is there a way to stop MCE removing channels that it thinks have gone when all along they are off air temporarily?

Thanks in advance

2. nigelbb

nigelbb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +491
    I am looking for a solution to this too. I believe that the problem is that for DVB-T (Freeview) which is what the DVB-S driver is emulating MCE does so called opportunistic scanning to check whether there are any new channels. There probably is a registry entry you can edit to switch this off but I haven't spent any time looking.

I have been experencing an even worse problem in that I edited my registry to change the EPG headend number from a Freeview one to a Sky one giving me EPG data for most of the FTA channels on Astra 28.2. I then shuffled about the channels so that BBC1 was channel 1 BBC2 channel 2 etc then I mapped the EPG entries to the correct channels. Unfortunately the next day I discovered that MCE had doen a re-scan of all the channels & I had lost all the changes that I had made.