Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Looks like TIVO is on its way out

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by rigman, Jan 3, 2003.

Tags:
  1. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,893
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +84
    See news section of www.homecinemachoice.com

    Was inevitable when Sky released sky+ that it would eventually die.

    Pity

    Darren
     
  2. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jeez how slow is that web site? Has Spectre donated his old server?:rolleyes:

    This is old news. TiVo isn't dead its Thompson who've pulled the plug.

    As the article states there are still other box builders who may move into the UK/European market now that Thompson have stepped down.

    We still get our Tribune data everyday. TiVo are still here.

    This has been discussed to death over on the tivo community
    http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=14
     
  3. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    You're 'avin a larf! What b******s.

    TiVo's going nowhere.
     
  4. Bone Daddy

    Bone Daddy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2001
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    west midlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    And having tried Sky+ against my Tivo,I know which one I`m sticking with ;)
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,584
    They already have - Toshiba is building the next generation Tivo (for the UK at least). With a bit of luck we'll see a Tivo/DVD Recorder combo.

    This was what was stated in the news section of the current 'Home Entertainment' magazine anyway.
     
  6. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,893
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +84
    Hook, line and sinker

    Boy you TIVO owners are so easily wound up :D :p
     
  7. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,893
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +84
    Even more bad news boys. Suppose you have been discussing this for ages as well
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,465
    I personally have neither Sky+ or Tivo.
    We need something like Tivo to be really successful so that Sky don't have yet another monopoly where they can charge whatever price they dream up.
    The things I've read about Tivo indicate that it's years in advance of the Sky+ software for usability - but it just doesn't have the ability to record one sky channel whilst watching another
     
  9. alle v

    alle v
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...In most cases that isn't a required feature :)

    Not one which I require.
     
  10. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    there are so many repeats, a dual tuner isn't required
     
  11. savage

    savage
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    there are so many repeats, a dual tuner isn't required

    do you suggest we all just record whatever we watch only then ?

    pretty poor statement
     
  12. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,905
    That isn't the only option that I can think of.

    Pretty poor response
     
  13. Azrikam

    Azrikam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I got Sky, I was sure I would want another digibox so that I could record 2 things at once. But, there are so few quality shows on at all, they rarely overlap. Now with the multitude of +1 channels, and late night repeats on E4, I never have to miss something I want to see. Plus, TiVo allows you to give everything a priority, so if conflicts do arise, you get the programme you most want anyway.

    And this is coming from someone who watches far too much TV. My 120 GB HD is nearly full again, so I've gotta do some serious cleaning when I get home. :)

    Course, there's nothing stopping you from watching terrestrial channels whilst recording from Sky with the TiVo.
     
  14. savage

    savage
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That isn't the only option that I can think of.
    Pretty poor response

    If you can think of more reasons for a dual tuner then write them or are you just here to pick up people on there answers ?
     
  15. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,893
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +84
    What has TIVO got that Sky+ has not?

    Thinking of binning sky altogether but would miss the HD recording of my + system and the thought of going back to video is just :eek: to think about.

    Thought I would just get some free to air cards and make do. Would it be worth buying a TIVO just for that?

    cheers
    Darren

    p.s can anyone remind me of the telephone no for the free to air card?
     
  16. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,906
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +32
    If you can find one ( or two ), using £99 Tivos and a couple of Freeview boxes is a good alternative to Skyplus+.
    If you have Freeview reception satisfactory.
     
  17. b33k34

    b33k34
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had my Tivo for about 6 weeks now and the ability to watch one channel while recording another had rarely been a problem. The 2 tuner issue was what put me off buying one for a long time but I got fed up with waiting and it's bothered me only a couple of times, far less than i expected.

    Tivo picks up on repeats at times when you might not spot them if setting manual recordings and you soon start watching everything from Tivo's recordings list ('now playing'). Since Tivo has picked up all episodes of the programmes i really want to watch there's nearly always a backlog of good stuff so it doesnt matter if it doesnt record a show the first time it's shown.
     
  18. Azrikam

    Azrikam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, one thing TiVo gives you an option of doing (which I don't think Sky+ does) is creating Wishlists. Instead of saying "record all the Simpsons eps on SkyOne, you can create a wishlist that will record all the Simpsons eps across any/all channels. Also, by carefully juggling the priorities of all your season passes, you can usually work around recurring conflicts.

    But, like it's been mentioned, with the amount of +1 channels, the conflicts are minimal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice