Looking to upgrade HTPC need advice

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by newcomers, Aug 7, 2013.

  1. newcomers

    newcomers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hey guys,

    I built my htpc 4 years ago, and I think I need to upgrade it. I think the MOBO is on its way out so I need to know what the cheapest replacement will be.

    I have an antec fusion case so it will need to fit into that. All I need it for is purely 1080p Blu ray playback.

    What is the cheapest MOBO to go for that will give me blu ray playback, along with bitstream HD audio? Im currently getting this through XBMC.

    As I will be replacing the MOBO, I will also need a suitable processor and Ram.

    Any suggestions? Really not looking to spend much if possible.

    Thanks guys
     
  2. rojgelf

    rojgelf
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,369
    I'd go AMD and get an fm2 board, you can get the A6 5400k CPU for sub £50 and onboard graphics will be fine for blu-ray, you'll need 2*2g of ddr3, 1600 speed will be good.
     
  3. newcomers

    newcomers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Ive heard the intel boards with an I3 chip are more future proof, is this correct?
     
  4. newcomers

    newcomers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
  5. rojgelf

    rojgelf
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,369
    I have an i3 and an AMD A4. The AMD is perfect for htpc and the CPU is half price of the i3, so save the money now and buy something else in the future. I only really use i3 for encoding, video is same or better on FM chip.

    That spec from last post looks fine, but the mobo says no HDMI out.

    Btw there is a newer fm2 board / chip out, either is fine for htpc - I still use fm1 board, just make sure you get correct pair.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2013
  6. newcomers

    newcomers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
  7. rojgelf

    rojgelf
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,369
    The a6 you have found is an apu - meaning gpu and cpu combined. Check gigabyte website for list of apus just to be certain.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice