Looking to buy Head Unit + Sub-woofer

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Navs & Dash Cams Forum' started by defacto, Sep 19, 2007.

1. defacto

defacto

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got an old ford with standard cassette player and speakers. I was thinking of buying a new head unit (one which with USB intake and AUX line) along with an active sub (I'm not too clued up on sound systems wiring...etc, so I thought an active sub would do the trick).

Thing is, I've only got 2 standard front speakers, would it be enough to buy a head unit and stick the sub in the boot? I was looking to buy this Sony headunit (£70) along with an active sub for about £100 (from halfords). I'm still a student, so unfortunatly I don't have tons of cash to spend.

Just wanted to get an opinion from anyone a bit more knowledgable about ICE on the headunit and sub.

2. davepuma

davepuma
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    I would be more inclined to change the headunit AND the speakers before adding a sub. My brother fitted a pretty expensive pioneer headunit in his Golf a couple of years ago and although it sounded good it was nothing special. He then got a local audio dealer to fit some cheap Pioneer fronts and Clarion rear speakers and it transformed the sound and sounded better than some other more expensive installs in other cars!