Looking to buy DIVX/XVID player

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ayubars, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Moderator:
    sorry, but i have this post in the other section. Wasn't quite sure which one to put it on, so i have posted here as well. Please feel free to delete it if im breaking the rules.
    thank you

    Hello guys,
    Im looking to buy a DIVX XVID player to connect it to my 50inch plasma TV. My TV is the SAMSUNG PS50Q96HD 50" HD. Im using up both my scart connections and i have 3 spare HDMI connections. Anyone can recommend me a player. I heard that there are players out there but suffer from freezing problems etc. I don't mind spending a little extra to get one without as little problems as possible.
    Cheers guys.
     
  2. o0 Deuce 0o

    o0 Deuce 0o
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Clacton-on-sea
    Ratings:
    +167
  3. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Duecey,
    This one looks ideal. You know if anyone had bought this before? No problems with it?
    Also, i think it is component output. Is this better do you or HDMI? mind you, when you are watching compressed movies in divx/xvid, i think hdmi won't matter as it can't improve the quality anyway?
     
  4. o0 Deuce 0o

    o0 Deuce 0o
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Clacton-on-sea
    Ratings:
    +167
    Hi,
    Yeah i have one,my mum and brothers all have this same one too,never had a problem with any of them,as for hdmi if your only watching divx/xvid files on it then that dont really make any difference
     
  5. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent!
    thanks, i think i'll go for this one.
    One last question, does it come with all the cables?
    thanks :)
     
  6. o0 Deuce 0o

    o0 Deuce 0o
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Clacton-on-sea
    Ratings:
    +167
    from what i remember it comes with all leads except scart cable but i bought mine 6 months ago so not sure if scart came with it or not but i did get component cables with it:thumbsup:
     
  7. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
  8. o0 Deuce 0o

    o0 Deuce 0o
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Clacton-on-sea
    Ratings:
    +167
  9. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank for your help guys,
    I remember looking at the Toshiba SD370E and read the reviews on the amazon site. Quite a few customers reported freezing problems with it?:confused:
     
  10. o0 Deuce 0o

    o0 Deuce 0o
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Clacton-on-sea
    Ratings:
    +167
    i can only tell you what i use mate and thats the one i gave you the link for :thumbsup:,if you only going to watch divx movies on it then the one i gave you is great,if your wanting to watch other upscaled dvds on it then the second one is what you need,i only use mine for divx files only so thats why i bought it.:thumbsup:
     
  11. eric pisch

    eric pisch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +754
    i bought a pioneer upscaling hdmi divx dvd player from scan for about £80

    it has a usb port on the front which allows it to see my mem stick as thou it was a dvd so no need to burn dvds :D
     
  12. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks:
    I have noted that my Plasma screen supports Resolution 1365 × 768. And knowing that Divx files are compressed, im not going to get a picture any higher than this. So the one that can upscale DVD's might be useless for me?
    And if i play Divx movies through HDMi, im not going to get any improvemnt in picture i think? :confused:
    Im still confused as there are two available. I think i'll have to have a toss of coin and see which one is better...
     
  13. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    By the way, does HDMI also support Audio?
    If so, that's excellent, as i won't need another audio cable.
     
  14. o0 Deuce 0o

    o0 Deuce 0o
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Clacton-on-sea
    Ratings:
    +167
    are you going to use it just for divx playback,do you own a blu ray player or hd dvd player?

    if its only divx then the first one is what you need mate,if you want sound from the player through an amp then it does have the audio outputs.
     
  15. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    it's really for divx playback. My TV has 3 HDMI ports free. Also has component sockets as well. But i heard HDMI is better than component.
    Only problem is my plasma TV is NOT 1080p or 1080i, whatever you call it. It's just an ordinary HD TV with 1365 x 768 resolution. So maybe the upscaller is useless to me? But i think the sd370 has HDMI connections? The SD270 has only component inputs? So im still confused on which one to buy to get the best from my TV.
    Many thanks.
    You guys are really helpful :clap::hiya::thumbsup:
     
  16. o0 Deuce 0o

    o0 Deuce 0o
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Clacton-on-sea
    Ratings:
    +167
    if its for divx playback only then the cheaper version is for you.its what i use in the bedroom on the hd tv in there but im not too bothered bout anything fancy as i only watch normal dvds and divx on it.:thumbsup:
     
  17. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    If this will be your main DVD player then go for the 370, this will upscale your dvd collection to 720p or 1080i (your set will support both). Even though your TV will automatically upscale, a DVD player will usually do it better. Also the HDMI will carry sound and picture through one lead, with component you will need 5 leads (3 video 2 audio), unless you're connecting to a receiver 1st which changes things slightly. Hope that makes sense.
     
  18. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155

    Sorry we seem to be contradicting each other, just giving him all the info.
     
  19. o0 Deuce 0o

    o0 Deuce 0o
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Clacton-on-sea
    Ratings:
    +167
    no problems just trying to help and hes getting both good info from both of us.:thumbsup:
     
  20. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOW!!! FATfingers!!!

    you have answered my questions!!! thanks :thumbsup::thumbsup:


    Ok, that does it, im ordering it now. at 34.99 i think it's a steal. I guess this player does not come with HDMI cable? I think i will have to order that separately, but it's only a few quid.
    thanks guys!!! :thumbsup:
     
  21. gblades

    gblades
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bracknell, UK
    Ratings:
    +51
    The Denon 1940 comes with only the composite video and audio cables I think. Not 100% sure about SCART but it certenly did not come with HDMI.

    HDMI does support audio.

    You can still upscale SD to 720p and this will still help. Its not doing much though so I doubt there will be much difference between how a good DVD player does it and your TV.
    You still want either HDMI upscaled to 720p or component video though so that you can display the picture in progressive mode.
     
  22. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Progressive mode? what is that? :confused:
    Im ordering the sd340. Also, the HDMI cable. Should i get a normal connector or the one Gold connectors? Both are same price :)
     
  23. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK!,
    ordered...
    I have also order the following HDMI cable:

    ULTRIX 100201 - Premium HDMI Cable for HD Ready TV - 1m

    It has gold connecters. I hope it's ideal.
    thanks guys
     
  24. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing is bugging me though.
    If i burn my DIVX/XVID content to DVD'rs, will the player show me an explorer like screen to choose which content to play?
    I think you an burn about 5 or 6 movies onto one DVD, and it's great if the player can show you a list of the content and you only have to choose which on to play.
    thanks guys:)
     
  25. gblades

    gblades
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bracknell, UK
    Ratings:
    +51
    Progressive just means non interlaced.

    The DVD player deinterlaces the picture and it helps reduce flickering lines and sheer when the screen scrolls horizontally.
     
  26. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    It should show you a list of what's on that dvdr. If not, then the skip button will skip through a whole film, as there's normally no chapters on divx movies.
     
  27. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok guys,
    after looking through this Forum, a lot of people have had problems with this toshiba sd370. Many people have reported Freezing problems. And when they rewind the movie and replay it, it seems to play just fine. Im wondering whether this unit is worth it? I heard that another similar one is better. The samsung branded one.
    Don't know whether i should go for that one. It's a little more pricey though.
     
  28. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, seen it:
    i think it's this one:

    SAMSUNG DVD-1080P7 DVD Player DivX HDMI, Upscalling Full HD 1080p

    on amazon.co.uk
     
  29. ayubars

    ayubars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    LONDON-UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oky Doky!!!!
    recieved delivery yesterday morning and i have put that baby to the test. The Toshiba SD370E
    One think i have to say that im surprsed for about 30 odd quid, it's a solid, well build little bugger. Lovely black colour and it's quite small. Looks very nice. I would post some pics up here, but not sure how to do that yet. Im very surprised about the delivery as well. I think i placed the order, and it came 2 days later. Very quick and very handy as the post man came around 7am before leaving for work. I like that.
    I don't think i can complain about anythink considering that the device only cost about £35. The remote is nice and solid. People have complained that you have to press the buttons really hard to get anything? Not with me. The remote was nice and solid too.
    Strangely it's come with the component cable. Yellow, red and white. I still haven't figured where they go at the back of the unit. If anyone knows where the right colour cables go, please let me know.
    In the meantime, im using Scart and so far it's been excellent. Can't complain yet.
    More review to come as i delve into talking about the divx content.
     
  30. jonnypb

    jonnypb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +559
    yes it does but i've noticed on some of the divx films that i've aquired i get a message on screen saying hdmi audio not supported which isn't an issue for me as i have seperate speakers
     

Share This Page

Loading...