looking hi fi amp and speakers for £200

R

rvd48

im at uni, looking for a cheap or 2nd hand hi fi amp and 2 speakers plus subwoofer ,

since im a student im on a budget, i not bothered if its 2nd hand and scratched. i mainly want alot of bass from the system.

can ne1 give me a helping hand?

+ are hi fi amps capable of 5.1 input?
(im going to connect it to my laptop via phono)

'Normal' hi-fi amps don't do 5.1. You can buy some amps which do do surround sound as well as decent stereo (e.g. I think Marantz do some), but they'll cost you a good bit more than a comparable stereo amp - probably not good if you're on a budget. Correct me if I'm wrong, but if you're just pluggling it into a headphone socket or 2 phono sockets on your laptop, you can't get 5.1 from there anyway...

In terms of where to buy, if you don't want to buy from a shop you can see if any 'bargains' come up in your local classifieds (though be sure to listen first, to be sure they work and you like them!). You could also try on ebay, though there's a chance of stuff getting trashed in the post etc.

In terms of shops, tatty local secondhand shops are often worth a look (but again make sure to listen b4 you buy)... Richer Sounds are probably a good bet in your price range (they do a 'trade counter' with secondhand stuff). In terms of amps, you might want to look at the Marantz PM4000 and PM4400 ones - good bass, and generally pretty nice sound - or some of the cheaper Cambridge Audio ones (I've got an A500 with good clear bass and nice sound, that cost me under £100). In terms of speakers, you might also want to listen to a more expensive pair of floorstanders - with decent bass - rather than a cheaper subwoofer and speakers.

Jon

jon_mendel said: