• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Looking for Slow Motion from a home video camera

DollFace

Standard Member
Hi there

Im looking to buy a new video camera. Im a filmmaker, but dont have the funds to buy a pro cam, so I'm looking to spend under £1,500.

The thing is i am really interested in slow motion. From the research i have been doing i see that Sony handicams seem to offer this as standard, but only for 3 secs at a time?!

Does anyone know if 'domestic' slo mo is coming? Should i hold out for a few more months/years?... the camera they do that has proper slo mo caperbilities seems to be 5 grand plus, so totally not an option.

Maybe i'm dreaming? Please help

Thanks

rogs

Can't see variable frame rate cams (which is what you need for serious slo mo) coming down in price any time soon - so I think the only option for us poor people is to do it in software!

Using AVCHD footage, I found the results of slowing down sequences using Edius Neo editing software gave better results than I expected.
You can trial it free, and it shouldn't be difficult to find some sample HD footage online, so you can try for yourself and see if the results are acceptable.

Mr Cheese

Alternatively you could try experimenting with a standard camcorder by filming using a higher electronic shutter speed. Slowing down the footage during editing should be less blurry. I've not tried this myself but the idea seems sound!!

Mysticpuma

If it really is slow motion that interests you and you have a tight budget, have you considered this camera:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3JfGw8YfeQ

Casio Exilim EX-FH100 Review

It may do what you need, but I don't think it records anywhere near HD quality in Slow-Motion mode.

Amazon.co.uk: ex-fh100

Alternatively there is this Casio model: