Looking for recommendation on near field desktop speakers for home office

rocketsurgery

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi there, looking for recommendations on desktop speakers for near-field listening in my home office. I'm a bit of novice here so I hope I haven't provided too much detail below.

The office is around 10 sq m, with a sit/stand desk (180cm x 80cm). I work from home 90% of the time, and listen to music when I'm not on Zoom calls. My main computer is an M1 MacBook Pro attached to a 27" monitor. The MacBook Pro has USB-C / Thunderbolt 4 outputs, and I also have a Thunderbolt 3 hub (CalDigit TS 3+) which has USB-A and USB-C outputs, a headphone socket, and optical out.

I was previously using Apple HomePods via AirPlay, but the lag was unusable for Zoom, and anyway both developed faults and were returned for refunds. I'm looking for wired desktop speakers instead and I'm ready to pull the trigger.

A few things to note:
  • The speakers need to be small enough to sit on the desk and will be positioned near to the rear wall. I often switch the desk height between sitting and standing positions, so speaker stands at the side of the desk wouldn't work. However it's a decent sized desk with plenty of space and I'm happy to use desktop stands to get the positioning right.
  • Music will mostly be streaming from Apple Music, mostly AAC 256 kbps, plus some Hi-res Lossless @ 24/192 where available
  • I mostly listen to orchestral and synth music, occasionally some jazz or opera, as well as podcasts. I will also use the speakers for Zoom calls
  • I don't need room-filling sound; I will only be using these in a near-field setup (I'll be about 3 feet away from the speakers)
  • I'm going to be using them pretty much all day Mon-Fri (for either Zoom or music)
  • I have a spare BK Elec Gemini II sub that I can bring into service
  • I've got a budget of £400-500 (can stretch further if absolutely necessary)