1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for partner for Infinity Oreus speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by petereh, Aug 28, 2004.

1. petereh

petereh
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Okay....another newbie here! I want to build a complete home cinema and hi-fi package. I'm looking to spend upto circa £1500 on the receiver and speakers, but my starting point is very much the speakers that my wife likes the look of and will tolerate in the room! The Infinity Oreus set seems to pass that test and seem to be well reviewed. Can anybody please recommend a receiver that balances them well? I was thinking of a perhaps a Denon, or as I understand that Infinity is Harman owned, should I go for a HK?

Also, (and please forgive if this is a really dumb question), why aren't receivers generally DAB these days? Isn't DAB the future?

Many thanks in anticipation.

Peter

2. petereh

petereh
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    anyone help please???

3. Andywilliams

Andywilliams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi
    If you dont mind buying exdemo sevenoaks still have a few of the older but very good harman kardon avr7500 £699rrp £1100 and avr 8500 £1000 rrp £1800 these amps are power houses and sound good in stereo as well as movies,If your after quality sound and power you could do a lot worse.
    Cheers Gonzo.

4. Tejstar

Tejstar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +990
    Welcome to the forums petereh :smashin:

You seem to have identified the speakers you want (and a good choice they are) but what price range do you have for the amp?

Depending on the price, there are various good models from Denon (3805, 2805) or Yamaha (2400/1400/750) or Pioneer (2014i, AX5Ai) etc.