1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for my first budget kit...what do you suggest from the following?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by RL123, Dec 6, 2002.

1. RL123

RL123

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi

I'm a Uni student and I'm looking for a decent starter setup. Naturally I'm on a very tight budget so I've had to look at my options very carefully.

Should I:

Buy a Marantz SR4200 (£200) or a Denon 1602 (£220) and keep my current speakers (hi-fi speakers but very good quality - Dad gave them to me last year and I really like them - but would want a centre speaker; RS have an Eltax speaker for £20 that looks pretty suitable)

Or

buy a cheaper amp (Looking at the Aiwa AVNW30 for £120) and buy a speaker package (RS have a Panasonic set for £60 I think)

Naturally theres a difference between amps.

The Aiwa doesn't have Pro Logic 2 but has all the connections I need. Is PL2 worth £80 more? Will the Aiwa amp be poor compared to the other amps?

So is it worth going for a cheaper amp in order to get better speakers? Or get a great budget amp and stick with current speakers for now

I know it's an oldish topic that you probably get sick of :rolleyes: :) but I've read through recent posts and not found anything to really help me. Although a post about PL2 has swayed me back to option A

Thanks for any help

2. Huggy

Huggy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    I can only comment on a couple of things, as I am a relative Newbie.

The Marantz SR4200 is excellent, and would probably be best paired with your very good hifi speakers rather than a cheapo 60 quid set. Then save up and get decent additions to the speakers over time. I personally don’t like it’s universal remote, and will be replacing that in due course.