1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for Dual Freeview Card

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by iamlofi, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. iamlofi

    iamlofi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is there a card out there that has dual Freeview Tuners to stick inside a media center. As im having a hard time finding one ?

    Thanks
     
  2. bigdic

    bigdic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've been loking around for parts to build my own htpc and haven't found any cards with 2 tuners (but I'm not saying there aren't any, if there are then someone here will find them.), I'm thinking of using these:

    http://www.gta-ltd.co.uk/Stockists.htm
    Black Gold PCI DVB-T card XP-MCE (BDA Drivers on CD) x 2 Offer

    They are MCE05 approved.

    Although it will need 2 pci slots which is a pain when you have to add a wireless g card too.
     
  3. iamlofi

    iamlofi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    yes thats the problem im going to face . . the only other solution is to have USB wireless instead.

    the only way arround this is for me to use the existing freeview box i have and get a Single freeview tuner . . the only issue with this is that i will be adding to the 1000000 remotes i have allready !
     
  4. JackOTrades

    JackOTrades
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I am not mistaken BlackGold (who supplies the cards you mentioned) also has a version of the card with two tuners in one (dual tuner card).

    If not, you can always use Nebula which has a dual tuner card. A bit more expensive but is known to come with good PVR software. If you are using MCE this is not so useful to you though but it will save you a PCI slot.

    Nebula has recently launched their MCE drivers so the cards can also be used with MCE.

    Hope this helps,
    Jack
     
  5. Xelon

    Xelon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    I have a Terratec DVB-T PCI and an externel Nova T USB2, both cards come with remotes, but these are not needed if using MCE2005 as the MS remote can control either, providing a suitable driver is installed.
     
  6. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Jack

    What dual tuner card? I would be interested but I can't find it. I thought their cards were only single but you could pair them up.
     
  7. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    They sell a dual dvb-t crd in australia it's basically two usb tuners fitted on a signle pci plate which connectects via internal usb headers

    I Found It..£110 Pound, Paypal Accepted..., great for custom mods..., why not have 4 of them in your computer...

    http://www.digitalnow.com.au/product_pages/twindvbt.html
     
  8. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I enquired about these earlier in the year (feb/march) I was told 'April-ish' still no sign of them over here though. Might be worth me asking again ...
     
  9. WSB

    WSB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
  10. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
  11. Andyuk911

    Andyuk911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I am not aware of dual tuner single freeview card for MCE.. I have 2 blackgolds at the moment.

    If I can be corrected, brill as I will buy one immediately.

    BTW MCE can only have two tuners so 2 x 2 is really pointless... unless somebody else knows better.
     
  12. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    I just posted about one, read the thread, is everyone blind?...and there is a hack on thegreenbutton.com so you can use more than two tuners...
     
  13. TheCrow

    TheCrow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    575
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +36
    How come your posts are so rude?

    This is not the first time I have been offended by your attitude :thumbsdow

    Take a chill pill meansizzler
     
  14. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265

    I wasn't aware I was talking to you, but a bit of reading and a little less questioning is all I ask
     
  15. Andyuk911

    Andyuk911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Please post link for the hack to have more than 2 tuners.

    Also are you sure that UK Freeview is supported?
     
  16. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    I'd have a look for you but that site www.thegreenbutton.com is so slow, you might want to have ago yourself and look..

    Ok, I found it for you, works with freeview to..,

    http://www.thegreenbutton.com/community/messages.aspx?ForumID=27

    Quote from some Dude..

     
  17. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
  18. CTID

    CTID
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Far, Far Away
    Ratings:
    +16
    :rolleyes: muppet :rolleyes:

    There are no single PCI dual DVB-T cards ATM.

    And getting giddy about multiple cards is all well and good but I would rather see two different EPG's possible. TIVO has done it for years, why not MCE??
     
  19. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Well there are two USB DVB-T tuners mounted on a single PCI bracket, that's good enough for me, jsut connect them up via internal USB headers, which mostly everyone has...

    [​IMG]

    Can you say CUSTOM MOD, see the screw holes... ;)
     
  20. Dillz

    Dillz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +8
    Can you confirm if this card you are suggesting actually works OK in the UK. I am sure someone more informed than me will confirm this (or correct me!), but I understood that DVB-T in the UK uses an 8mhz bandwidth but in Australia it is 7mhz, so would this mean that an Aussie tuner card would still work OK here.
     
  21. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Well try asking in some australian forums, but some guy who moved form the uk to australia said his card worked fine, not thid one though..
     
  22. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    I currently have a PCI nebula ( one of the first off the production line if I recall correctly). I have the USB secondary tuner slave module on order at the moment.

    Currently I use the nebula for the bulk of my TV watching and recording. If I'm recording something and need to watch another channel I use a seperate stand alone digibox ( second hand nokia mediamaster ...also feeds a plasma via an active RGB to svideo convertor so the kids can watch TV without firing up the PC). This feeds into a sweetspot analogue capture card and whilst digiTV records silently I watch the digibox feed using Dscaler.( this is also a pretty good pipeline for badly mastered or video originated material as the deinterlacing is still better than any PVR or playback app I've seen)

    The sweetspot is quite expensive for a capture card ( I can justify it as I use it for numerous analogue sources) but you could opt for a cheaper decent s-video only capture card like the packard bell tv 100 or Xcapture.

    This is one of the things I like most about about HTPC , lots of options for dealing with material.
     

Share This Page

Loading...