Looking for advice on which wireless speakers to buy for Marantz M-CR603

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by gcpc1, Aug 17, 2013.

1. gcpc1

gcpc1
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Folks,

This is my first post. I signed up to this forum as looking for some advice and hope you can help me.

I'm a techno novice so please go easy with me. I've looked through other threads and don't think my request has been mentioned elsewhere.

I have a Marantz M-CR603 system which I upgraded (approx. 18 months ago) to the Apple Airplay. To be honest, I got the upgrade as it was free but have no idea what it means in practice.

I have an iPod Classic plugged to the system. The iPod is used only for playing music through the Marantz (i.e. the iPod is never detached from the system) and the Marantz is used only for playing music (through either the iPod and CDs) and listening to the radio. I want to keep the Marantz/speakers in the dining area (approx 13' x 13') or move the speakers into the living area (which is a continuation of the dining area and with approx. the same dimensions as dining area).

I'm looking to purchase 1 or more wireless speakers to replace the current, ancient 2 x Sony SS-CCP11 speakers. These speakers are fine but am looking for wireless ones to give me more flexibility.

My questions are:
    1. What speaker/s would you recommend, for a budget of £100 (for 1 speaker) or £150 total (for 2 speakers)?
    2. Would I need any other items to allow for wireless music and, if so, what would they be/cost?
    3. I'm not looking for a big ass sound, just something that's reliable and does the job.

Other info:
    1. I live in a detached property, if that makes any difference
    2. My main objective is to have speaker/s that I can keep in one place 99% of the time but have the option to move, if required

Thanks in advance for your help :)

2. BlueWizard

BlueWizard
    Distinguished Member