Question Looking for advice on Cambridge Audio CXR 200

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by markemark74, Oct 30, 2018.

  1. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looking for people’s views & experiences with the Cambridge Audio CXR 200 please.

    To start with it will be running a pair of B&W 702 S2’s which will be added too slowly.
    Plus a pair of outside speakers on zone 2.

    Thanks
    Mark
     
  2. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    Hi. I had one of these for a while, I liked it a lot, great sound quality and power. When I had it there were some firmware bugs, they may have fixed those now. Ultimately I moved on from it as I wanted atmos. Also, it has no room correction, or HDR passthrough. But, if you can live without those then it is a very nice sounding and powerful AVR.
     
  3. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Rambles, thanks very much for the info. Do you mind if I ask what you moved on to.

    Another option I’m thinking is keeping my current AVR & add a Rotel amp.

    But it gets so confusing the more articles you read.

    Thanks
     
  4. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    I've been through a lot of changes since then. Marantz SR7011, Denon 6300, Denon 4400 plus Musical Fidelity M3i integrated amp. Now I have the Arcam AVR550, with a Roksan K3 DAC for a bit of a boost for music.

    What do you have at the moment? Are you looking for a combined system for movies and music?
     
  5. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wow that’s some very nice pieces of kit. I was thinking of the Arcam, Anthem or Rotel. But I’m very new to this top end of gear.
    It would be mainly for music & the odd movie here & there. Approximately 70/30 split.
    But I also have a pair of speakers outside that are used a lot in the summer.

    At the moment I have a Denon AVR X3200W, which was only brought for the pre outs to run a Bang & Olufsen surround sound. Which is hardly used, main use is stereo music. So I wouldn’t mind loosing the surround.

    Thanks again
     
  6. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    Well, the Denon 3200 is a decent AVR, and should do a good job for movies. For music, you could just add a stereo amp via the pre-outs, if you get one with HT bypass then that makes it easier to live with.

    I ran that type of set-up for a while, and sound quality was excellent, but.. it is not that family friendly, in terms of a lot of boxes and cabling, The integrated amp that I used (MF M3i) did not have a DAC, or balance control, and could not be switched on and off via a remote. But it did sound lovely. So, it probably depends on what your priorities are in terms of budget, features, number of boxes etc. And you could always add an integrated amp that has those features on board if you want to limit the number of devices that you have under your TV.

    The Nad T758v3 AVR is probably worth a look, if you can get that in Spain? More affordable than the Arcam's, and it comes with Dirac, and all the modern features and is reportedly good for music.
     
  7. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks again for all the info. You have been very helpful.

    Would the Nad be a better choice over the Cambridge audio?

    Also would the Nad run the B&W 702’s well enough?
     
  8. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    I don't know about better, it would be different. The Cambridge has the power and lovely build quality and sound quality. The Nad has less power, but is reported to sound good, and has all of the modern features including Dirac, which is an excellent room correction system.

    That's a tricky one. They are 90db sensitive, so should not be too difficult to run. But a better power amp section does help with overall sound quality, in terms of dynamics and headroom. The Cambridge CXR200 would certainly run them well. The Nad should run them okay, but if not, you could always add a power amp.
     
  9. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Would my current Denon run them ok for the time being?
    If yes would it be an advantage to use the bi amping feature?
     
  10. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    Should be okay. Generally there is not much advantage in bi-amping from an AVR as it all draws on the same power supply. But, as you are only running a stereo pair of speakers, there could be an argument for bi amping, as this will overcome the Denon' s power limitations in stereo mode. So you could potentially get more headroom by using four amp channels than two.

    As you have all the equipment there it's worth a try and see what you think.
     
  11. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have now put the Denon up for sale with the B&O speakers.

    It’s all making my brain hurt

    Really appreciate all your input.

    Thanks again.
     
  12. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Rambles,

    Sorry to be a pain again.

    What would be your advice on speaker cable?

    I see a lot of people recommend the Van Damme blue. I’m not too hot on this as my B&O’s are active. So not sure if I would need the 2x2.5mm or 2x4mm.

    I’m thinking of using the Denon for the time being & bi amping. Speakers will only be 1.5m away.

    Any help would be great.

    Thanks.
     
  13. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    Hello, I use Van Damme Blue 2.5mm and similar other quality cables throughout my house. There is a chart here to guide you on what you need:

    Speaker Cables – What You Need To Know

    I must admit though, I thought active speakers didn't use speaker cable, would you not connect them to the AVR via the RCA pre-outs. What model are your active B&O's?
     
  14. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry that’s my bad.

    Yes that’s the way I connect my B&O’s at the moment. With RCA’s into the pre outs.
    I have beolab 8000’s as fronts, 6000’s as surrounds & 7.2 as centre.

    I meant once I buy the B&W 702’s and bi amp them to the Denon.

    Thanks
     
  15. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    So if I’ve got this correct.
    Speakers are 8ohms & distance is 1.5m.
    So it says I need 0.6mm cable.
    Seems very thin.
    Thanks.
     
  16. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    A-ha. That makes sense. Yes 0.6mm does seem thin, but according to science is all you need. It would be fine to go for 1.5mm or 2.5mm if you prefer.
     
  17. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Great thanks. You have been very helpful & it’s very much appreciated.
     
  18. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Rambles,

    Sorry but could do with a little more advice if possible please.

    Ok so today I ordered the 702’s, I also purchased some ex demo Rotel RC-1550 & RB-1552 at a bargain price.
    I’m wondering is it possible to hook them up to the Denon AVR or is it better to forget about the Denon completely?
    It’s going to be for mainly music but I do like some of the connectivity the Denon has.

    Thanks
     
  19. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    Hello. So, you have the Denon 3200 AVR and you are adding a Rotel stereo pre-amp and stereo power amp to the system. And, are you still running a 5.1 set-up, new speakers on the way, presumably it won't be a stereo set-up anyway.

    It doesn't look like the Rotel pre-amp has HT bypass so a bit of fiddling about will be necessary to get it all hooked up, but it is possible.

    The front left and right pre-outs of the AVR will need to go into a spare stereo analogue input of the Rotel pre-amp. The pre-outs of the Rotel pre-amp will need to go into the power amp, and the front left and right speakers will connect to the power amp.

    When listening to music, don't use the AVR at all, just connect your music sources to the other inputs of the Rotel and use it as a stand alone stereo pre and power system.

    When using the AVR, the pre-amp will need to be on the input where the AVR is connected and you need to find the sweet spot on the volume of the Rotel to use when using that input, and always return it to the same spot for that input. To find the sweet spot get an SPL meter or app and play test tones through the AVR and get the front left and right speaker levels to match the others. Then when it's about right, run Audyssey.
     
  20. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks again.

    I think for the time being I’m going to get rid of the AVR. I take it I’m going to get much better results quality wise just by using the Rotel pre/power.

    So now I won’t be bi amping the speakers but connecting them to the Rotel amp, is it best to connect the speaker cable to the high frequency post on the speaker?

    Thanks.
     
  21. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    For stereo music. yes. But if you get rid of the AVR you won't be able to use your other speakers, so no 5.1 / 7.1 or whatever set up you have, and no HDMI inputs.

    It shouldn't make any difference if you have good speaker links in place. However, you can experiment to see if you hear the difference. It is okay to go in diagonally also.
     
  22. markemark74

    markemark74
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1
    Great. Very helpful again.
    Thanks for all the info you have helped a massive amount.
    I’ll let you know how it goes.
    Fingers crossed. I can’t wait.
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice