1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for a new PC - any recommendations?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Bert Coules, Jun 18, 2004.

  1. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    I'm thinking of replacing my old ragbag of a PC and would be grateful for any recommendations as to current good deals and reliable suppliers.

    My existing machine is a P4 with 256Mb RAM and an assortment of bits and pieces which have been bunged in over the years. I need a CD (or maybe a DVD/CD) writer and a separate CD drive, since I do a lot of CD copying.

    I'm not looking for a machine to use for home cinema, just general use, the internet and occasional audio editing. I'd prefer a ready-assembled and tested machine.

    Many thanks in advance.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  2. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    Yeah, build one yourself, it will cost you about a quater of the price of buying one, you say you have a p4...thats a relativly new chip, what speed is it ?
    get a gigabyte or msi motherboard get fast DDR ram, mabey 333 speed, try and get branded stuff if you can afford it , like crucial or kingston, get a pioneer 107 dvd writer, if you are getting a high end motherboard as i suggest, get a model that is SATA comatable (has 2 little red usb sized socets on the board its self) it will prolly come with usb2 and firewire connecting plates as well.
    if you like, I could build you one (thats what i do)
    anyhoo its defietly thay to go, as dell etc ussually dont put the best components in, and its not that difficuilt to build your own, and its the best way to learn.

    Rob
     
  3. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    Rob, thanks for the thoughts. I have built PCs in the past - in fact, I built my current P4 - but I would prefer to buy a ready-made unit (or at least a ready-assembled bundle of matching parts). And I don't want to cannibalise my existing computer, since I rather fancy keeping it intact as a spare.

    I don't recall the speed of the P4 processor. How do I find that out? Does it appear somewhere in the System listings under Control Panel? (I'm running Windows ME).

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  4. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    just right click my computer then go to properties, the speed and memory amony is shown in general tab, wich comes up by default,

    I think your nuts to spend cash on a ready built pc :suicide:
    ps M.E stinks :)
     
  5. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    Rob,

    Just right click my computer then go to properties, the speed and memory amony is shown in general tab, wich comes up by default...

    Not on my machine. There's no indication of the processor speed, just the type and the RAM.

    Many thanks for the information; very useful if I do decide to go down that route, but somehow I doubt if I shall.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  6. antomack

    antomack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    To get your processor speed try the following.

    Go Start / Run
    Type winmsd and Click OK
    Check the System Tab and may tell you the processer speed here.
     
  7. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
  8. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    you can get this from the registry if you're confident enough...

    DONT TRY THIS IF YOU DONT KNOW WHAT THE REGISTRY DOES !!! ;)


    Start> Run > Regedit

    Expand the following 'folders'

    HKEY Local machine > Hardware > Description > System > CentralProcessor > 0

    you'll see the CPU speed at the top of the right hand window:

    ~Mhz REG DWORD ( the number in brackets is your CPU clock speed )
     
  9. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
  10. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +300
  11. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
  12. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,423
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    I know a few ppl who have ordered a pick and mix pc over at www.savastore.com (just click on build your own pc)

    It allows you to choose the bits you want (allowing you only to match parts that are compatable) and gives you the cost on adding each component. they're only slightly more expensive than buiding yourself but at least your choosing the parts they're using to build your system.
    Not sure about the back up and cs though since they've never had any issues with the systems they bought:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...