Looking for a DVD Player

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by rhubarbe, May 2, 2007.

Tags:
  1. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    I am looking for a DVDP to compliment my (black) AV23R SP EX BP 192. I have seen ads for a DVD32FLR (or two) with PSM 192 at about a grand.

    I have also seen ads for DVD32R but these seem mostly older units with sticky doors, even on the newer transport.

    What do you reckon? Has technology moved on to the point where I can get the same (as the FLR) performance and a lower price point and with possibly less potential grief (I suppose I am talking about a warranty here) by buying something like a Marantz 9600/7001, or even an Arcam?

    Or any other recommendations?
     
  2. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    Do you want it for music and movies or mainly music? For music both the top loader and FLR are stunning when sync'd to the AV32.

    If you can find one without the PSM for cheaper than a grand then it might be a good buy. You could add a video processor like a Lumagen and feed the component output of the 32 into it

    I've seen the Arcam 139 and the P/Q was very very good, plus it can play SACDs, DVD-As and of course CDs
     
  3. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    I want it mainly for music. Buying a separate processor would increase the cost over and above the PSM model, though I could route my other video sources through it.

    But don't video processors, like the Crystallios and Lumagens of this world cost an arm and a leg?

    Must say that Arcam DV139 was my favourite, but £1800....
     
  4. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    You can pick up a s/h Lumagen Vision or HDP for a decent price these days, check ebay and the marketplace on here. It would be a better option than the PSM module in my opinion and as you say, you could route your other gear through it.

    That plus the 32/FLR would be cheaper than the Arcam and you would still have the benefit of the syn link to the AV32 and the TAGtronic bus:thumbsup:

    What display(s) will you be using?

    Edit : A Vision for sale here :
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=506421&highlight=lumagen
     
  5. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    I am currently using a 32" LCDTV (Tosh), but just as soon as I can bring enough pressure on the wife I'll be upgrading to somehting bigger. My wife is into tennis and with the clay season now started, she can't see the ball against the clay on the Sky Sports Extra feed.....

    There's a Lumagen HDP in the for sale threads right now.

    But, to be honest, I don't think I have room for one of these in my TV unit....
     
  6. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    Stick it behind it then :thumbsup: :D
     
  7. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    Behind it is a wall, unfortunately.

    If I were doing all of this again, I'd do it all differently!
     
  8. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    Hindsight is a wonderful thing......

    Could you stand it on its edge?
     
  9. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    No, unfortunately. I have an AV32R and a Rotel RMB-1077 on bottom shelf; SkyHD and Dreambox DM7025 on top shelf; which leaves middle shelf, 146mm tall for the DVDP and really, not a lot else.

    I do really it's crazy to spec an HT system with the TV unit being the major constraint but I was foolish, I was at work when the TV arrived and my wife built the stand. It took her five hours, and now it is sacrosanct.
     
  10. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    Well you don't want to upset the little lady.......:eek: :rotfl:

    Is the Tosh on the wall or on a pedestal? If on a pedestalwould there be enough room to put the Lumagen on the pedestal at the back?
     
  11. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    It's on a purpose-designed stand for the model: it has no table top. Imagine a tightrope and you are the TV. I place you on the tightrope and bolt you on. That's how it looks. The tightrope isn't made of rope, though.
     
  12. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
    Sounds nice, post a piccy?

    I think the iScan VP series should fit in as they are pretty slim, unlike me and I have no chance of ever going on a tightrope!:eek:
     
  13. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    That's you and me both, then. ;)

    I'll have a look at the VP thingy.

    THe VP50 would certainly do it..... only the cheapest I can find it at is fourteen hundred quid. And because my other sources are both RGB scart (SKY+ and Dreambox) I couldnt connect them up to the iScan.

    So, it'd have to be cheaper to get a DVD32FLR with the PSM 192 modukle after all, wouldn't it?
     
  14. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +228
  15. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    OK read that, thanks. I'll mull it over tonight. :clap:

    EDIT: OK, I have mulled it over and I think FWIW, that I'd be quite happy with a black DVD32FLR with PSM 192 for the time being.

    The one I was looking at on Audiophilecandy went on eBay (apparently, thought I never noticed and I have sure been watching).

    <hope>Still, I expect there'll be another one along in a minute.</hope>
     

Share This Page

Loading...