1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

looking for a crt , best place ?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by rob12770, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    hi, im looking to update my bd 650, i have put a wanted add in the boards but not much success, :thumbsdow im in edinburgh and not many folk will post , im looking to spent about £400 not too sure what model to go for , :confused: any suggestions greatly appreciated.
    cheers rob :hiya:
     
  2. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    I think at £400 you are very limited in what you can get.

    And that might be a reason for the lack of response.
     
  3. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    i know mate but surley there must be someone with something, i see 701 s etc for about that price on ebay, but im a bit dubious bout fleebay.
     
  4. Nickyrboy

    Nickyrboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +1
    Although ebay can be very dodgy, if the seller allows collection and payment in person go for it. If it's not as described you don't have to pay, if it is you've got a bargain. However if they want paying upfront etc. stay well clear. Some of the older sony crt's can be picked up cheap, look for a VPH 1030, as you can use a line doubler on them and produce a pretty respectable picture.
     
  5. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    sure i just read a post about 1030 NOT taking a doubler AND no protection so if you do sent too high a signal.....

    BANG!!!



    could be wrong dont know it myself....




    post in other forum
     
  6. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42

    problem is im in edinburgh scotland and traveling to london or far afeild to pick on of these beasts up isnt an option,

    so i have to get someone who will post.
    i might have to go for the smaller seleco's they are often willing to post, thing it i use an htpc so it must take data, im nt sure about the seleco's or much else to be fair. :rolleyes:
     
  7. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    rob12770

    Would you be interested in a nice Electrohome ECP4100?

    We can probably overcome the delivery issues if you have a car. :)

    Regards
     
  8. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42

    I can see driving to N.Ireland to be a slight problem brian, unless i get an aquacar :devil:

    im looking on the net at the PJ in question,
    cheers rob
     
  9. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    rob

    Yes, but your car would only need to go to the edge of the water on your side :devil:

    I've been here before. :D

    Are you interested?

    Regards
     
  10. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    cheers brian but il wait and see if someone will post :)
     
  11. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would you like me to investigate postage instead?

    Regards
     
  12. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    could be worthwhile brian. but i need to do a lil more digging on that pj,
    cheers rob
     
  13. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you need any info on it, just ask. :)

    Regards
     
  14. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    Check this thread

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=251489

    its a work in progress file but does have some useful Seleco info (I hope!)
     
  15. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    thanks MadMrH ..thats well handy :smashin:
     
  16. Alaric

    Alaric
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +89
    I'd generaly advise against posting a PJ, they are on the delicate side of things and all it requires is one knock in the wrong place and you have a very heavy pile of bits.

    They arn't gonna be cheap to post either. I'd say the best way is to palletise and hope someone is fairly careful, at least they'd use forks to lift on/off or a pallet truck so the chance of someone dropping it will be slim. From dealing with pallets and shipping i'd guess to scotland from the south would be 50-70.

    So maybe upping your budget for buying in scotland may be your best bet for a bargain.

    Cya,
    Lee
     
  17. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    buying in scotland is near impossible mate :rolleyes:
    they r just not many here, on ebay i have only ever seen one on ebay, and i bought it , but it needs upgrading now .
    cheers rob
     
  18. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,818
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,553
    Sorry, mate, but unless you can hover round their skip when a company is upgrading to DLP, you may as well forget it.
    Budget £400 for (part of) the installation and 10 times that (at least) for the projector.
     
  19. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rob

    My offer is still stands.

    Regards
     
  20. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42

    lol, i dont expect to get it installed il do that myself, ( i got good results with my current pj) i will deffo get one just have to wait i guess, and yes il spend more cash if i get it..i will prolly go up to £600 or so in time, i spent £200 on the bd650 i figured if i spend double that i should get a newer pj, i dont expect to get what some of you guys have :hiya: just something with beter focus.
    i find the crosshatch grids individually a little blurry in the centre, old components i think, also the lenses are a lil scratched up.

    also you say "upgrading to DLP" i got a dlp , nice and clear but the blacks were rubbish by comparison, also no one told me you DO get pixels with dlp, ok mabey ther r not pixels but you can see the dmd morrors..pretty rubbish that :eek:

    cheers rob

    ps brian, im bearing you in mind, but your still far away mate.
    can the Electrohome ECP4100 handle data from a pc and what like are the tubes, ? does it have a timer ? how many hours on the chassis ?
     
  21. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rob

    The ECP4100 will scan 45 to 120Hz vert and 15 to 80KHz Horiz, basically that covers all of the normal home cinema resolutions, 1080i and 576p being the ones I preferred to use. Also an HTPC is the best way drive this projector, unless you have a 'good' scaler.

    All three tubes are unmarked.

    Unfortunately the ECP's did not have a timer, so I can't tell you how many hours it has been run, appart from the times I have used it, which is approx. 500hrs over 3yrs.

    There's some good info on the ECP's here:-

    http://www.curtpalme.com/docs/ElectrohomeECP4100_4101_Brochure.zip

    http://www.curtpalme.com/ElectrohomeECP.htm

    I checked courier delivery this morning, £40 for 48hr delivery and £55 for 24hr.

    Regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...