Looking for 75-85" TV...overwhelmed!

tommyjoey

Novice Member
So, newbie here. I've read through the excellent best buy guide (@Dodgexander) and various other threads/reviews etc. Would appreciate advice!

I have just move house and am looking for a 75-85" TV for the lounge. I think I need a fairly wide viewing angle and have floor to ceiling windows facing where the TV will be located. I plan to get a PS5 at some point (but not yet) so probably will want HDMI 2.1. Mostly sources will be HD/UHD streaming, though some built in Freeview/Freesat too.

My current TV is a Samsung UE50MU6120 and I've been pretty happy with it, which probably tells you I'm by no means a picture expert. I want something that is a bit future proof but will also have a bit of a wow factor. Budget ideally no more than £2k but could go slightly over. Concerned I'm not going to notice some of the things dicussed here!

I also want to buy from Costco ideally, so I can utilise (though not abuse) their 90 days returns if needed. To that end I am thinking of plumping for LG 86UN85006LA at £1600. But also be contemplating the Sony KD85XH8096BU (£1700) or Sony KD75XH9005BU (£1470). Felt like the HDMI 2.1 and wide angle or LG made it the best and some favourable comments on the best buy + other links. Though this review at rtings (LG UN8500 Review (65UN8500PUI, 75UN8570PUC, 82UN8570PUC, 86UN8570PUC)) has somewhat put me off...which has now made me notice lots of comments about dark scenes etc

Advice please! Thank you!

Dodgexander

Check out:

It may be impossible to get what you want whilst sticking to budget unless you go for a smaller TV. Something like the Samsung Q90T would tick all boxes.