1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for 42"

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by scorpio26, Jun 15, 2004.

1. scorpio26

scorpio26

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

Dunno if I'm on the right board here i.e. display or TV??

Anyway, I'm fairly new to this and am looking for a 42" plasma to replace my Sony KV-28DSU hulk. I want a sharp, colourful picture but not too worried about the speakers as I have a Sony D800S home cinema which will take audio input from TV. Unfortunately the HC only has S-video output (how close is that really to RGB?). I also have a PACE Sky digibox which has RGB output direct to TV.

I have a few questions...

1. What quality of display do I need given that I 'only' have S-video out from DVD.

2. Same question regarding the RGB from the digibox. Presumably, the RGB out from digibox is only as good as the signal in from the dish. Currently the RGB digibox output isn't as good as the s-video DVD output. Does the fact that the digibox has RGB out mean that I need a high quality display to get the best out of it?

3. Presumably I only need a display rather than a TV as the digibox is working as the tuner? Or is it best to go from integrated tuner/freeview circuitry just in case digibox gives up the ghost.

4. Where can I get good independant reviews of currently available models, eiither on web or magazine?

5. I found one review of Panasonic TH42PE30B and that sounded pretty good. Any comments?

6. There seem to be massive discounts available online - are there any web retailers I should avoid?

Any feedback, suggestions, advice gratefully recieved.
    Thanks
    Scorp

2. Blu Ray

Blu Ray

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi Scorpio,