1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for 28" to 32" LCD for less than £900!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by christhevan, May 19, 2005.

  1. christhevan

    christhevan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello experts! :hiya:

    I've been looking round the forum, internet and magazines for the past week or so for a new 28" to 32" tv as described :) I've been looking but nothing in particular has stood out, i was wondering if anyone here could help me :)

    I need somthing that is mainly going to be used for my computer and as a TV with a free to air box so no tuner is totally necessary, although i do want somthing HDTV Compatible...

    My computer, has a dual SLI 6600Gt Graphics setup, with a component box boasting HDTV support

    [​IMG]

    I presume i'd need to use this...

    Also i wanted to use a DVD Player, (but if there are some cheaper options without this i can substitute ;) ) hehehe, with the following outputs...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    and also a Free to Air Terrestrial box, with scart... (i presume the 99% of lcds will have this too :D)

    Any help would be MUCH appreciated...

    Kindest Regards, :clap: :clap: :clap:

    Chris!
     
  2. christhevan

    christhevan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    oh super... thanks for the help everyone :(

    Chris..
     
  3. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    For Hi-def TV you need a HDMI or DVI-HDCP connection, i.e. a digital comnnection. You CAN have a hi-def analogue feed thru component. Free to air have no plans for Hi-def TV at the moment.
    Does your graphics card not have DVI?
     
  4. christhevan

    christhevan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    My graphics card does have a DVI yes, i use the VGA for my monitor,

    Only thing is then i'd need to run a DVI cable from one end of the room to the other, and a DVI cable isn't cheap!!

    Thanks for the response!

    Kindest regards,

    Chris
     
  5. ivor61

    ivor61
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    olney
    Ratings:
    +2
    currys have the samsung lw32a33w in store for £895 in northampton
    i don't know how good they are but it looked ok in the shop.
     
  6. paulfoley

    paulfoley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hants
    Ratings:
    +101
    I was interested in this model last week but discovered in a detailed review just why £400 had been lopped off - Severe smearing problems of the image on all sources.

    :nono:
     
  7. christhevan

    christhevan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the advice!!

    Chris...
     
  8. Crivens

    Crivens
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. paulfoley

    paulfoley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hants
    Ratings:
    +101
    Why not look at the new 26" & 32" samsungs at Empire Direct? Great spec, amazing price but probably a long wait as so many of us have pre-ordered now (See seperate thread). Good luck!

    :smashin:
     
  10. greig

    greig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
  11. Crivens

    Crivens
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It asks for a discount code before you order it apparently. I assume it then lowers the price. The email just said to use "TOSHIBA-UK" as the discount code when you place the order.

    Cheers
     
  12. Scotty306

    Scotty306
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think i've read somewhere in the toshiba thread that the offer has expired,

    although i can't find it now, sorry
     
  13. Scotty306

    Scotty306
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Found it LINK
     
  14. greig

    greig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes, oh well, thanks both!
     

Share This Page

Loading...